Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Very moist and yummy! I subbed applesauce for the oil, and fat free vanilla yogurt for the buttermilk. Threw in 1/2 cup dried cranberries and some walnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is a hit in my house! Family loves them! I am going to try cranberries next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
excellent. I added a cranberry/blueberry mix and they were delicious - no modifications to this recipe were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thePrairieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
These were awesome. I did substitute the oil for applesauce, sugar for honey, and used half white flour and half whole wheat. I also added some chia seeds. Great, easy, muffin recipe. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
these are delicious, I replace the raisins with xmas colored chocolate chips(bad idea) and they stuck in the pan even though I sprayed them well, they still tasted really good, will make these again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
These are great muffins! Easy to make, texture is not dense, beautiful color and tasty. And I like that the recipe only makes a dozen. They are easy enough to make a fresh batch when we run out which we did already after making them just yesterday. My 7 and 5 year olds loved them! They want me to make more today. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is a great basic recipe. For some flavor I added 1tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 C walnuts, and 1/2 C dried orange flavored cranberries (purchased from Trader Joe's). I chose to omit the raisins and add an additional 1/8 C of buttermilk to keep the muffins moist. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These were good! I followed the recipe except I substituted applesauce for the oil as other reviewers have suggested, made my buttermilk using 2% milk and vinegar, and I added in a heaping 1/2 cup of raisins AND dates! My only complaint is that they need some kind of spice! Next time I'm going to try adding some cinnamon and maybe pumpkin pie spice to the recipe. I would like to try another reviewer's suggestion of substituting the 2/3 cup brown sugar with 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1/3 cup of molassas to give it a richer taste and make the muffins moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I really enjoyed these muffins. I substituted Flax Plus for bran. I also used dried blueberries and 1/2 cup of chopped mixed nuts. I added 1 tsp of Penzeys Apple Pie spice. They were very moist and tasted like a muffin you would get at a high quality B&B. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I love it! Make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjelka

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States