Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Excellent and quite addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I backed this morning and these muffins are excellent, love substitution for apple sauce instead of oil... and I used frozen blueberries instead of raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
They are what they say they are! I make them with no raisins and they are good. The only way they could be better is if they were fluffier but I ALWAYS think that about muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Absolutely wonderful, and making this recipe vegetarian friendly was a piece of cake. We made 2 batches - one that followed the recipe, and one that substituted almond milk + 1 tbs vinegar + 1/2 tsp baking soda for the buttermilk and egg substitute for the eggs. We convection baked both batches for the full 20 minutes and they turned out great. There is a slight difference in taste, but both are excellent in their own right. My guests said both were wonderful and didn't prefer one over the other. Success! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajax81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Awesome! First I have to say that as a baker that tries to be healthy, I don't always have the best success with finding recipes that are both tasty and good for you. But according to my family, these were the best muffins they ever had, and they had no butter or oil! I substituted natural, unsweetened applesauce for the oil, almond milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice for the buttermilk and made half the flour whole wheat. I even cut down on the sugar a bit and no one could even tell. According to them, these were the best bran muffins they've ever had and they're all begging for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Very good recipe as is! We also tried omitting raisins and adding flax seed, apple pie spice and cinnamon - and buttering the tops as they came out of oven. Didn't have straight buttermilk so made my own with 2T lemon juice in the cup of milk. very substantial muffin but also light and soft! Will definitely make again! (I have four children under 10 and they love it too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These are my go-to bran muffins. I always add extra fruit, like chopped dried apricots, dried cranberries and walnuts to "beef" up the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Good journeyman muffins. Not spectacular but good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Milak
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I added 2 Tbsp. of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I added the apple sauce but also for more flavor added apple pie spice, cinnamon and a dash of five spice. I also used cran-raisins. Took to a garden party and people ate them up. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 980) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States