Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is my "go-to" bran muffin recipe. The only thing I do differently is while the oven is preheating & the bran is soaking, I soak the raisins in boiling water and a splash of vanilla. I let the soak until it's time to incorporate them, then I drain them really well & add them. Makes the raisins nice and plump and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Just baked it as a cake in a round pan. It took a little over 30 minutes to bake at 375 degrees F with a doubled recipe in a very flat round pan. Also, I substituted homemade Greek yogurt in place of buttermilk and used dried cranberries in place of raisins; white sugar in place of brown sugar and white whole wheat in place of all-purpose flour. My household diligently counts carbs, so weights according to the recipe changes just mentioned are as follows: serving size=76.625g of pre-baked batter/carbs per serving=47.27g.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Great recipe! I changed it a little by adding applesauce and blueberries. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Duckworth
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Second time trying and they turned out great only this time I added walnuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This is a delicious muffin as is. Even two days later, loosely wrapped and at room temp, it was had a fantastic flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! Added shredded carrot, golden raisins & chopped pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars only because of the amount of sugar it calls for. When I followed the recipe originally the muffins were too sweet and dry for my liking. I made the muffins with half the called for amount and modified the flour amount by making it 3/4cup flour and 1/4 cup almond flour and enjoyed the outcome much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My grandma used to make bran muffins and I was trying to find a recipe like the one she used to make. These were dense, yet moist and soft. They bake up very nicely too. They are quick to make and the directions are easy to follow. I made 2 changes and that was subbing half the all-purpose flour with King Arthur white whole wheat. I have been experimenting with subbing half whole grain flours in recipes. Then, the other thing I did was use wheat germ instead of wheat bran. I read on-line it is an acceptable substitute. These were good, but were missing something that made my grandma's recipe had that made hers more rich tasting. I also didn't add the raisins at the end, as hers did not have them either. I may actually try these again following the recipe exactly with all the AP flour and using the wheat bran to see if my changes are what made them different or if they are the same. They will be great for a handy breakfast, though, that is high in fiber in low in calories. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I didn't have brown sugar, had to use regular but they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
There are some issues with this recipe if you don't use the right ingredients. The white flour should definitely be organic. The wheat bran shoud be organic as well, as that has issues as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,000) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States