Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I think it's a yummy base recipe! I added chopped apple (instead of raisins, preference) 1/4c of flax seed meal and 1/2c of applesauce (needed it higher in fiber) and they were still awesome - even after I messed with it :) Thank You Janet for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
The only change I made was using brown sugar Splenda, because my Mom is diabetic and wanted to reduce the sugar. These are delicious!! Can't wait for my husband to try them. Thank you for the recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoloBear
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Honestly, I was very disappointed with these muffins which is a bummer because I love bran muffins. This recipe just must be very different from the bran muffins my mom makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Not too sweet a keeper for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Leithiser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have always been horrible at following recipes. I like to make things up as I go along. This recipe is really good! I however added a banana, cinnamon and fresh blueberries! They were gone so fast I had to make more!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Perfect bran muffin base. I couldn't resist adding a small chopped apple (unpeeled), but otherwise I followed the recipe as written. It's a good bran muffin, moist and with just enough sweetness to keep my family happy. Still moist and delicious the next day. I was glad to find a recipe that didn't start with a box of cereal. Very easy and no surprise lumps of unsoftened cereal. I'd like to a handful of dried cherries next time. With the addition of apple, the recipe made 12 regular and 12 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Sub some honey for some sugar, added coconut, Shredded carrot and apple, pumpkin seeds, and sunflower seeds, wish I had cinnamon but didn't. Used 1/4C. powdered milk, 1c water and 1 Tbsp Lemon juice to Sub for 1 C. Buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Outstanding recipe in all respects! The only thing I would caution is make sure you do not overbake as they can become dry. But the flavor, texture, and ease of mixing were all excellent! This is the best bran muffin I have ever had (seriously!)......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Delicious and not to mention simple! These were easy to throw together to use up the last of my All Bran cereal and buttermilk. I opted to use 1/2 cup of Land O Lakes light butter vs. veg. oil. I creamed that together with the brown sugar. I added 2 Tbsp. of molasses and 1 tsp. of cinnamon to give it some spice. I poured the batter into 6 Texas sized muffin cups topped with turbinado sugar for a little extra crunch and baked them at 400 for about 25 minutes. They smelled wonderful and tasted even better! Perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I substituted 2 cups Bran Flakes for the wheat bran, and skim milk for the buttermilk. I also added some orange zest and a dash of cinnamon, as well as small handfuls of: chopped apples, grated zucchini, chopped nuts, and fresh cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 998) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States