Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made the following substitutions and changes: 1.5 C oat flakes instead of wheat bran .5 cup brown sugar olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I suppose I don't like wheat bran pastry because I've tried so many times to do something good with wheat bran and every time it's a disaster. This time I added dates, granola, substituted applesause for butter, added 3 tbsp of white sugar instead of brown sugar. Actually I added one more cup of buttermilk, because the batter was so crumbly and it was impossible to mix. After 2 cups of buttermilk the batter was ok. Unfortunately the taste leaves much to be desired. Hope the muffins will be better tomorrow. But I won't do them again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I used Raisin Bran cereal, apple sauce for oil, dried blueberries for raisins and added cinnamon. It was pretty tasty. I will decrease the brown sugar because of the added sweetness from the apple sauce next time and add some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
These are fantastic! I make these atleast once a week for the children in the daycare i work at. 37 little mouths all agree this recipe is a keeper! Sometimes i'll add rehydrated raisins or cranberries into the mixture, and when in season, i add fresh blueberries. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkaboom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I have been using this recipe for several years now and it's the only bran muffin recipe I'll ever use. I love the fact that they contain so much bran yet remain beautifully moist and soft. For the fruit I use whatever I have in the pantry which could be anywhere from mixed fruit to dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenys V. Aitken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Love this recipe...I didn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I didn't have wheat bran so I substituted ground flaxseed. The batter seemed pretty thick so I added a couple more tablespoons of buttermilk. They turned out delicious! My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Mine came out: - Really dry - Did not raise well. I ended up with 12 small muffins - Raisins were not detectable at all - There were no taste or mositure that you'd expect from a muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I usually add orange zest and a bit of cinnamon for extra flavours. Also, I substitute all purpose flour with whole wheat flour. Still taste great, but even healthier. Sometimes, I substitute half of the vegetable oil with unsweetened apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I LOVE these bran muffins! The only thing I changed was substitute 1/3 cup of cooked navy beans for the oil. They were great and my kids are devouring them. Yay for a bit more fibre in our diet! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States