Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JulesHomeschools
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Our church's local food pantry had a ton of wheat bran donated and didn't know how to use it all. So, after getting a large Ziploc bag of it, I took it home to experiment, did an "Ingredient Search" on this site, and found these muffins. I really wanted to try them, but had no buttermilk or vegetable oil (or applesauce) in the house. I solved the buttermilk issue by making sour milk (1 tbsp lemon juice and milk to equal a cup). The oil was trickier. I did have canned pumpkin on hand and thought, "Why not?" Subbed 1/3 cup canned pumpkin for the oil I didn't have and, "Voila!" They are great. Part of me wants to try the original recipe to see how they compare. The other part of me says keep using the pumpkin. Way better for us; they taste great; and the texture is wonderful. I'm definitely adding the raisins next time. I just didn't want to waste them if the pumpkin didn't work out. Thanks for giving me a yummy, healthy way to use up all this wheat bran!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
We all love these; especially with chocolate chips:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
You can make them healthier but substituting brown rice flour for the all purpose, coconut oil for the vegetable oil, maple syrup for the sugar and adding cinnamon ( a wonderful spice for health) and ginger. Buttermilk is a healthy ingredient so I left that in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Instead of raisins I used dried cranberries ... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe, partly because it's tasty and partly because it's so easy. It's a really good base for all sorts of add-ins. I added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts and 1/3 cup chopped dried apricots and the muffins were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Sohn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Delicious! The recipe made 6 large muffins and really needed more than 20 mins to bake. Next time I'd go 5-10 longer. As so many have suggested, I used apple sauce in place of the oil. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and added 1Tbsp of ground flax. Used 1/4 cup molasses and 1/4 cup white sugar. Finally, I added 1/2 cup of frozen blueberries instead of the raisins. I will be making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Quigley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was the first time I've made bran muffins myself. Very good recipe, tasted exactly like I'd hoped. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but added some spices (clove, cinnamon, ginger). These will be great with breakfast all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutrinutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Made the recipe as posted and it was delicious. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great, classic flavor. I added cinnamon and replaced 1/2 of the white flour with coconut, almond & spelt flour. Next time I'll try the suggestion of using applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States