Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So DELICIOUS!!! I copied the recipe to "T" the first time and they came out perfect! Second time around I substituted oats for the all purpose flour and added walnuts and chocolate chips, third time I used almond butter instead of vegetable oil and added flax and pumpkin seeds. Next tie I'm going to try fat free yogurt instead of the buttermilk to make them as low fat as possible! Adding this one to my Go-To-Recipes for Bran Muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Awesome recipe! I substituted the oil for apple sauce, and it turned out great. They freeze well too, so I bake a couple batches at a time and then have bran muffins all month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Excellent!! They are moist and light. A great base recipe. Probably one of the best bran muffins I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I have been making this a couple times a week since the holidays. I also vary the sugar; add molasses. Sometimes cinnamon. Bananas. Grated veg such as carrots. The possibilities are endless with this. Oh, half unsalted butter/half olive oil if I zest in orange rind. If you arent sure, just enjoy it as presented. If & when you want. Experiment! With raisins I simmer for a bit in a little water to soften for kids. Drain & count the liquid towards the milk. Thanks for this handy recipe Janet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Best bran muffins ever! The first time I made them some years ago I thought they tasted like they came from a bakery or a deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hpfrenken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Our bodies need fat, but not sugar. At 7gm of fat per muffin, I kept the oil, but I did reduce the sugar to 1/3 cup and the muffins were still nicely sweet but with a lower carb count. Remember that these are muffins and will suffer from overcooking and overhandling. Whisk wet ingredients in one bowl. Soaked wheat bran will get added to this right before adding to dry ingredients. Whisk together dry ingredients for about 15-30 seconds. Then gently stir wet ingredients into dry *just until the flour is no longer visible. Excess stirring will cause tough muffins! Divide into muffin cups and bake immediately. Once baking soda has been added to liquids, it will begin to activate so it's important to get it in the oven. Nutritional info: Cal: 151, Fats: 7, Carbs: 16 net, Protein: 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I lost my previous bran muffin recipe, and when my husband requested them for 'regularity' issues, I chose this. I made the recipe as printed and it was excellent! He liked it better than my previous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JetPuffed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Substituted applesauce for oil, Allbran cereal for oat bran, and whole wheat flour for white flour. Sprayed muffin tins instead of using papers. Held raisins for kids. Turned out moist and tasty. Great with yogurt fruit parfaits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I like this recipe as is (except no raisins because my 3-year old doesn't like them). I usually make 3-4 dozen muffins and then put them into freezer bags and freeze them. Even after a month or two they taste every bit as yummy once they are thawed. We put honey on them, but they have a nice sweetness to them without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,047) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States