Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This will be my go to recipe from which I start to experiment, adding spices, fruits, molasses, etc. But for my first attempt I made the recipe exactly as written except I used All Bran cereal rather than plain wheat bran. I didn't think about the fact that All Bran has sugar in it. This gave the muffins the sweetness of many bakery muffins but I prefer less sweet. In the future if I use the cereal rather than plain bran I will reduce the sugar to 1/3-1/2 cup. Other than that the texture, moisture content and everything was just perfect. Baking time for me was just 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing this recipe, Janet. I've made it several times in last couple of weeks with a few variations, reducing sugar to 1/4 cup, 1 tbpn cinnamon (we like spice!) and grated apples. Just delicious! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was a good start, I like real "branny" bran muffins. So I adapted as follows: 1 1/2 cup wheat bran 1 1/2 cup wheat flour 2 eggs 1/3 cup oil [ canola or peanut ] 1 cup buttermilk [ I use reg. milk w/splash of lemon juice ] 1 tspn baking soda 1 tspn baking powder 2/3 cup molasses [ in lieu of brown sugar ] that's it for me, you can add the vanilla, salt, and raisons if you like, I don't. Also, you can play with the molasses amount to your taste, and if you like a real strong muffin I sometimes add a couple of tspns. of strong coffee, chopped pecans are also a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Excellent bran muffin recipe, but like others, it's even better when you add your own specialties; I always substitute applesauce for oil, use Raisin Bran to get the raisins, and I always add about a 1/4 cup each of walnuts, chopped dried apricot, cranberries and on top sprinkle some chopped cooked turkey bacon. LOVE the sweet/salty aspect. And with all the dried fruit becomes VERY moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made the following substitutions and changes: 1.5 C oat flakes instead of wheat bran .5 cup brown sugar olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I suppose I don't like wheat bran pastry because I've tried so many times to do something good with wheat bran and every time it's a disaster. This time I added dates, granola, substituted applesause for butter, added 3 tbsp of white sugar instead of brown sugar. Actually I added one more cup of buttermilk, because the batter was so crumbly and it was impossible to mix. After 2 cups of buttermilk the batter was ok. Unfortunately the taste leaves much to be desired. Hope the muffins will be better tomorrow. But I won't do them again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I used Raisin Bran cereal, apple sauce for oil, dried blueberries for raisins and added cinnamon. It was pretty tasty. I will decrease the brown sugar because of the added sweetness from the apple sauce next time and add some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
These are fantastic! I make these atleast once a week for the children in the daycare i work at. 37 little mouths all agree this recipe is a keeper! Sometimes i'll add rehydrated raisins or cranberries into the mixture, and when in season, i add fresh blueberries. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkaboom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I have been using this recipe for several years now and it's the only bran muffin recipe I'll ever use. I love the fact that they contain so much bran yet remain beautifully moist and soft. For the fruit I use whatever I have in the pantry which could be anywhere from mixed fruit to dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenys V. Aitken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Love this recipe...I didn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,000) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States