Classic American-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I doubled this recipe for a potluck barbecue. It is delicious! I added a little of the pickle juice along with the vinegar, and used a little more mayo than it called for. Keep an eye on the potatoes and don't over cook, which is really the secret to a good potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This definitely is "Classic" American-Style Potato Salad! And it's a great base to put your personal spin on. Potato salads definitely are "classic" picnic food and no matter what your personal preference potato salad is always a hit! I add more eggs and use white wine vinegar vs. red. For the dressing I cut the mayo with sour cream, used a mix of dijon and yellow mustards and always mix the dressing part separate then add it to the potatoes and veggies so it doesn't get mushy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Best. Potato. Salad. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is really good. Having grown up in the South, this is the potato salad that I remember from potlucks and family get-togethers. Next time, I'll add a bit more mustard to spice it up a little more and some of the pickle juice to give it more of a pickle flavor. Better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe! My only "carb vice" is bread. I'm not into potatoes, rice or pasta, however, this salad is very good and found myself having seconds. My family is German/Austrian and we normally make our potato salad the European way. I've had "American Potato Salad" many times, but this was just a little different and very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
There is only one thing to say: YUUUMMMMYYY If you want rave reviews from family and friends, this will do it! It's so easy, even I can do it!! A keeper with a capital K!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This is my new potato salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruitchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I omit the pickle and double the mayo. I often use white vinegar and yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I really didn't care for this recipe. I guess maybe I just prefer the potato/mayo/celery-type salad, but I know that the texture of the sweet pickles (which I VERY finely chopped) was fairly disturbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I just made this; exactly as written, except I used dried parsley and Vidalia onions. This has a nice tang to it. It does taste like classic salad that you might get in the deli but, of course, with a homemade boost. I would have liked my potatoes a little softer but I always prefer to err on the side of a little firmer over mushed potatoes. It is very tasty while still a little warm. I will serve it to hubby later and he’s going to love this one. He likes these mustard pickle type potato salads. I always made my potatoes for salad by boiling the cubes I had pre-cut and have never been thrilled at my results. I thought it kind of sped things up but it doesn’t really. Maybe cutting them up first boils some of the flavor out of them. There is something different about the taste of the whole boiled potatoes cut up and mixed with the mayonnaise while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States