Classic American-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Half of us liked it, and half of us didn't. I think that when I think of american style potato salad, I do not think red potatoes. That was probably the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Excellent recipe! Everyone in the family went back for seconds or thirds. We didn't have red wine vinegar, so substituted cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was really good. Traditional, but with some extra little kicks (like the Dijon, which I love). Plus, I love that it doesn't make enough to feed an army- my small family doesn't need that much. We still ate it for 3 days in a row. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Family enjoyed the taste, I however did not cook the potatoes long enough....some were a little hard, not to earth shattering since I made 5 lbs., and they ate half of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I found this to be very good. I will save it and use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Great recipe! I used red skinned potatoes, and it was perfect for a bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This was very good. I left out the pickles, just cuz I didn't have any, but it was still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Truly a classic. Used small red potatoes, cut before cooking. Used white vinegar in the water resulting in nicely firm (but not hard) pieces. Used Duke's mayo (a southern brand) which is a bit tangier than Hellman's. Mixed all the dressing ingredients separately, substituting olive oil for milk. Then dressed the salad. Skipped the pickles. INCREDIBLE. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I like a more adventurous potato salad, personally, and over the past few years I've made many potato salads that I have loved. Unfortunately, my husband has always disagreed. This time I went hunting for the perfect potato salad for his less adventurous tastes and found it. It's good, easy to make, and although nothing fabulous, it certainly deserves the name "classic."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I would make this again - but I think I would cut back on the vinegar. I did pour it directly on the potatoes as others suggested so that may be the reason it was so strong. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States