Classic American-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I used yukon gold potatoes instead of the red potatoes and doubled the amount of celery for added crunch. Next time I'll omit the pickles just based off personal taste. I also seasoned with paprika. Great classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I've made this for dinner tonight. I didn't have any red wine vinegar so substituted balsamic vinegar. ..it gave it that nice tangy taste. I hope it makes it to dinner time id like to share it with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabrina Renee Steele
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This was pretty good. We prefer to leave the skin on our potatoes. I would use a little less mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Delicious, everyone loved it even my grandson who did not like potato salad. I used red wine vinegar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Found this to be too bland.....added cayenne, chopped onion with celery; plus lots of dill and celery seed...also some spike along with minced garlic and paprika to enhance the eggs. Used relish as opposed to chopped pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was delicious! I have been looking for the "classic" flavor that I have been buying that the local deli, and this was way better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is an excellent potato salad recipe, and a real crowd-pleaser. This is not a bland, mayo and potatoes kind of recipe. I add Miracle Whip and different kinds of mustard, and probably more red wine vinegar which makes it extra flavorful. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was very good. Me and the hubs loved it. I didn't know how I was going to feel about the mayo, dijon, and red wine vinegar but it was very pleasant. I substituted regular onion for the green onion since I didn't have it on hand. Also, I nixed the parsley since I was out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Made it and my husband and best friend LOVED it!!!! my husband usually doesn't eat leftovers and the leftovers of this potato salad lasted a week. Cudo points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingmommy123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I seldom write a review but after making this for a birthday party celebration I had to. I am known for making good potato salad and have a special-private version that is often requested. I wanted something different so decided to take a walk on the wild side and settled on this. Wow!!! It was delicious. I did make some changes but I don't think anything that drastically altered the outcome. I left skins on red potatoes. Used rice vinegar instead of red wine. Replaced relish with finely diced bread & butter pickles. Dried parsley instead of fresh. When I first tasted it (right after final mix) I did not like it and thought oh boy what did I do. But after refrigerating and letting everything meld together things only got delicious from there. Do make this....you will not regret it. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States