Classic American-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Delicious, everyone loved it even my grandson who did not like potato salad. I used red wine vinegar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Found this to be too bland.....added cayenne, chopped onion with celery; plus lots of dill and celery seed...also some spike along with minced garlic and paprika to enhance the eggs. Used relish as opposed to chopped pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was delicious! I have been looking for the "classic" flavor that I have been buying that the local deli, and this was way better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is an excellent potato salad recipe, and a real crowd-pleaser. This is not a bland, mayo and potatoes kind of recipe. I add Miracle Whip and different kinds of mustard, and probably more red wine vinegar which makes it extra flavorful. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was very good. Me and the hubs loved it. I didn't know how I was going to feel about the mayo, dijon, and red wine vinegar but it was very pleasant. I substituted regular onion for the green onion since I didn't have it on hand. Also, I nixed the parsley since I was out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Made it and my husband and best friend LOVED it!!!! my husband usually doesn't eat leftovers and the leftovers of this potato salad lasted a week. Cudo points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingmommy123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I seldom write a review but after making this for a birthday party celebration I had to. I am known for making good potato salad and have a special-private version that is often requested. I wanted something different so decided to take a walk on the wild side and settled on this. Wow!!! It was delicious. I did make some changes but I don't think anything that drastically altered the outcome. I left skins on red potatoes. Used rice vinegar instead of red wine. Replaced relish with finely diced bread & butter pickles. Dried parsley instead of fresh. When I first tasted it (right after final mix) I did not like it and thought oh boy what did I do. But after refrigerating and letting everything meld together things only got delicious from there. Do make this....you will not regret it. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is the second time I have made this version of potato salad. It is the best I've ever made. I agree with another critic - I tasted it right after putting it together and didn't think I liked it very much. But after chilling for several hours, it was great. I pretty much stuck with the recipe as written except I didn't measure veggie ingredients exactly (celery, pickles, scallions) and probably added a little more than called for. I would give even more stars if I could! Update - I made this again - used 1/2 of a white onion chopped instead of scallions and more salt (personal taste)- also used 2/3 cup of Hellmann's Lite Mayo instead of regular mayo. It was still great and reduced calories a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Gate, California, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this today to take to a BBQ and everyone loved it. I used less mayo than the recipe calls for and it tasted just fine. I would make it again for another occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Best potato salad ever! I've made my own for years and never been quite satisfied. I did add bacon because we already had some crumbled. To make it even better we had potatoes right out of our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States