Clark's Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I am so glad that you have all enjoyed this recipe. When I said a 9 inch pie pan, I was referring to a nine inch deep dish pie pan (glass type). This will hold the entire mixture. If you don't have the deep dish type, cut back on liquids. I always cook mine on a cookie sheet, just to be on the safe side. Let your pie set up before serving. Hope this helps too! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Hamblen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This is a great recipe for a crustless quiche! (Really cuts down on fat content.) Be sure to spray your pie plate before adding the ingredients and use olive oil spray to saute onions. I left out the mushrooms only because I don't like them. I also did not cook the spinach as other reviewers suggested. Thaw and drain is enough. I used no fat or low fat everything and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
The quiche was absolutely delicious, but I did have one problem. The recipe didn't call for deep dish pie crusts, so I bought regular ones and they weren't nearly big enough. What was in the crusts was great, but I must have lost about 4 eggs when I pured the egg mixture over the crust, it spilled everywhere! I would still highly reccommend this recipe, just make sure you buy deep dish crusts. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Although I have eaten quiches for many years, this is the first one I actually made and it was a huge hit. Probably the best one I have ever tasted. I made two modifications, I used a little over a pound of bacon and deleted the ham and substituted broccoli for the spinach. After reading everyones comments I was a little gun shy about the amount it made so I had some extra pie crust and tins on "standby". The way I made them there was just slightly more than would fit in two 9 inch tins (1 deep, 1 regular). My only criticism is that this takes WAY more time to prepare than 15 minutes. The preparation of the bacon takes longer than that. Also, this recipe uses a lot of cheese and if you don't want to pay a fortune to buy it shredded, that step will also be time consuming. We will definitely make this fantastic recipe again. You cannot go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
There is a way to avoid a soggy crust. Beat the white of one egg with a teaspoon of water. Brush the whole crust with this and bake the pie shell(s) for 10 minutes at 375 degrees before adding ingredients. Cook as directed. Great recipe--tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I've made this quiche probably a dozen times this past year. In my opinion its the best quiche I've ever tasted (although not the healthiest!). I pre-bake the pie shells for around 10 minutes. I eat one and freeze the other. The frozen one tastes just as good as the fresh quiche. Instead of ham, I use fresh smoked bacon. Instead of frozen spinach, I use two bunches of fresh baby spinach. I've also substituted a fresh bunch of spinach for broccoli as that combination works really well too. SOOOOOOO good!!! I've also made this one for my parents. They were so impressed with this quiche that my mom got rid of her old quiche recipe and only makes this one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Excellent recipe - easy to make and was a huge hit for Thanksgiving brunch/lunch today (Canada). I took the advice of previous review and cut back on cheese amounts (5 oz vs. 8 oz) and substituted the spinach for same size pkg of frozen chopped broccoli - also deleted the bacon and just used smoked ham steak (diced)- also added diced green and red peppers to onion/mushroom/ham saute mix. Nice flavour and colour. On advice of previous review, I held back on egg mixture (I had enough left over for my boyfriend to make one massive omelette at work later on!) - any more egg mix in the quiche pie shells (deep dish 9") would have definitely overflowed but didn't due to cutting back. Would suggest cutting back to 6 eggs vs. 8 (if using large eggs). Could have gone 45 minutes vs. 40 in oven but overall - awesome recipe and enough for 6 adults with tossed salad. Thanks for the recipe, Clark! I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This recipe was wonderful.. I had a small brunch for some friends and made these in mini form... They were delicious... Just drop the temperature to 325 degrees and cooking time to 30 to 35 minutes... Thank you for this GREAT recipe... Yes, even the kid's LOVED it... I also emailed it to my friend's, right after they left...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I should have believed you Clark: I halved the recipe and made only one... It was gobbled up immediately and the next day my fiancé came to me with the sad puppy look on his face, asking me if I could pleeease pleeease make another one. :-) An excellent quiche! I especially like the spinach - sour cream mix: I've now used it in other quiches, too, and it does wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
We really loved this recipe. To reduce the carbohydrates, I did not add the onions. I would suggest baking the crust for a few minutes before adding the filling because it was a bit mushy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 773) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Clark’s Quiche

Bacon, ham, and three types of cheese make this quiche a 5-star favorite.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States