Clark Gable Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
I thought these were pretty good. I did add a TBL of sugar as other suggested, and did notice a slight aftertaste, though. For those of you who had trouble with the thickness...keep this in mind... measuring flour for baking requires proper technique. If you scoop your measuring cup in the flour you will pack it in and get too much flour. The proper way to measure flour is to spoon it into a dry measuring cup then tap the cup on the side so that the flour will gently settle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
this is my new favorite recipe! two thumbs up for simplicity, versatility, and taste. for one thing, these pancakes (and *cough, cough* the batter) are just like the ones i had as a child. i thought that ALL pancakes had sugar in them... no wonder i couldn't find any that tasted like "the good old days!" i've always been a fan of baking powder; you just can't beat that flavor and fluffiness. the pancakes were super thick, and fantastic. i don't like my pancakes thin and floppy... that's what crepes are for. anyway... i got to thinking... "hey, i could do a lot with this recipe." so since the first batch of pancakes, i've made a giant oven pancake/biscuit (just plopped it on a cookie sheet & put a few pats of butter on top) this was super tasty (& exceptionally easy), because of its crisp, clean exterior, and magically fluffy interior. but my favorite variation yet is the pancake super muffin! i'd say A+ for presentation and variety! i used 1.5c flour for this one, and the muffin tops looked amazing! but you could probably still do it with the same old 1c recipe. remember to put a pat of butter on top; this may be the key to teir lovely color. oh, and i just always bake this stuff (muffins & biscuit) at 400 degrees for 10 minutes (my muffins needed about 12 though, remember to watch when you bake) next idea... use as batter for frying?? (probably remove the oil from the recipe for that one)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Surley the submitted had intended for the baking powder to be 2 tsp - not 2 TBLS..which would be a ridiculous amt in almost ANY baked good. But - due to earlier suggestions, I added a TBLS sugar, a tsp of vanilla, and a dash of cinnamon. Great pancakes that were enjoyed by all. Thanks for this basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
The pancakes were very Good!!! I did decrease the baking powder as suggested I used 1 1/2 tablespoon and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoons sugar. Excellent I will NEVER buy a boxed mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte Fink Santella
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These were good pancakes. I must agree with those who recommend cutting the baking powder down a bit, I didn't because I don't like fooling with a recipe until I give it a shot first. Make sure your griddle is hot enough. Mine wasn't at first and they did not fluff up nicely. Got fluffier as the griddle got hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Fink Santella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
These were great, fluffy pancakes! I substituted applesauce in place of oil- I always do in pancake recipes. I also added a little bit of vanilla to the milk mixture. This made exactly 10 pancakes using 1/4 c of batter for each. Thanks I'm definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Excellent pancakes! I am not really a pancake person, but my family loves them. I wanted to try something new, other than our usual Bisquick mix. These were just as easy and much, much better! I tried the suggestion to use 1T sugar, 1t vanilla, and cinnamon. The baking powder WAS 2 tablespoons, not teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I've been making this recipe for a while and every time they turn out wonderful. However, I found the exact recipe on the back of my baking powder can, minus the 1/4 cup sugar. From reading the reviews, it sounds like some people prefer the sugar and some people don't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These are some of the fluffiest pancakes ever! I added 2 tsp. of sugar and 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I might cut the baking powder down to 1 1/2 Tbsp. next time because I could taste it a bit, but other than that these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made these exactly as written (I love Clark Gable) as I wanted to see what happened with this much baking powder. Could not stand the very strong baking powder taste and even spit it out! So I diluted the rest of the batter with another round of ingredients, but no more baking powder (so now double the recipe). Result: GREAT PANCAKES! And they were plenty fluffy. Recommend half as much baking powder as recipes states, but see for yourself! (also, you can use half soda and half powder to cut the baking pdr flavor even more). (Perhaps an error got perpetuated in this recipe?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States