Clark Gable Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
we have been making this recipe for years!! we absolutely love it. i always use melted butter instead of the oil to make the pancakes even fluffier and butter in the pan to make the surface crispy. and i always double the recipe or my family would eat it all up and there wouldn't be any left for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Really good recipe!! I love size the batch makes, perfect for a smaller morning, double it for when there are more than 3-4 children. Tastes really great without adding any sugar or vanilla. (they don't hurt, just don't want the extra sugar, there is enough in the syrup :) My new all purpose recipe. REALLY TERRRIFIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is a perfect, easy pancake recipe. It's fast, they're completely fluffy, and they melt in your mouth! Thanks for such a simple recipe. Please note that the amount of baking powder is correct. There was no bitterness due to the amount suggested, so I say go for it- these pancakes fluffed up like none I'd ever seen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I loved the consistency of the pancakes but the baking powder was a bit much...you could taste it in the pancakes and it was a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
These were great! The whole family loved them. Please do not listen to the other reviewers. The amount of baking powder IS CORRECT. It is what makes these pancakes so fluffy and tasty. All I want to know is why are they Clark Gable Pancakes?...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I just tried this recipe for the first time...we had pancakes for sunday dinner after a busy weekend...they were great...i'll never buy pancake mix again...i added sugar and vanilla and a dash of cinnammon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Yummy! I was a little skeptical, but these were great. I tripled the recipe,used whole wheat flour, added about 3/4 cup of milk, and used half applesauce half oil. We have a family of five and there were only a few leftover. My husband said these were the best pancakes ever! A trick I learned when making lots of pancakes is to break out your wire cooling racks and put the pancakes on those so they don't get soggy, works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Delicious, fluffy pancakes!I doubled the flour and milk, added 2 heaping tablespoons sugar and some vanilla and followed the recipe exactly besides that, including the 2 Tablespoons of baking powder. This is going to be my new pancake recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Good basic recipe-I loved how they were light and had crisp edges. On the downside, I thought they lacked flavor. I will make them again, but substitute melted butter for the oil, and maybe add cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
We have been trying different pancake recipes every weekend and these ones are really good! They are nice and light. I used a smidge less baking powder but stuck pretty close to the exact recipe. The recipe makes enough for 4 people but no leftovers, so if you want to have some to heat up the next day for the kids breakfast then you might want to double the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States