Clark Gable Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Try this recipe AS IT IS written... it is the best. I served these at other's houses and in each family it is now their pancake recipe. Truly. I call them on weekends and they say they are having my Clark Gables! If you haven't ever put in 2 TBL of baking powder then you don't know that is works very well. I tried the sugar/vanilla idea and it ruined the result. I am a pancake connoisseur...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preacher Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made these exactly as written (I love Clark Gable) as I wanted to see what happened with this much baking powder. Could not stand the very strong baking powder taste and even spit it out! So I diluted the rest of the batter with another round of ingredients, but no more baking powder (so now double the recipe). Result: GREAT PANCAKES! And they were plenty fluffy. Recommend half as much baking powder as recipes states, but see for yourself! (also, you can use half soda and half powder to cut the baking pdr flavor even more). (Perhaps an error got perpetuated in this recipe?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
i used 1 1/2tbs because i was a bit scared of using 2tbs of baking powder lol. the most i've ever seen used was 4tsps. but these pancakes had a really nice "fluff" to them. If you like sweeter pancakes i'd suggest to add 1-2tbs of sugar. my bf prefers pancakes without so he really liked these and i've tried so many pancakes recipes on him. he's extremely picky when it comes to pancakes too. Maybe next time i'll be brave and try the 2tbs of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is only the second time I've made pancakes and the first time trying this recipe--I've found my new standard! I made some adjustments based on other reviews: 1 1/2 tbsp baking powder, 1/4 c sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract. With these adjustments, there was no aftertaste and they were still fluffy, light, and delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
these pancakes were a little strange...they cooked to a crisp on the outside but were uncooked on the inside. once I got them mostly fully cooked, my husband still didn't love the texture. and good thing I didn't half the recipe-I only got 5 normal-sized pancakes out of the recipe! I can't imagine how small you'd have to make them to get 10 pancakes. the taste was pretty good, though-I used 1.5 Tbsp baking powder, used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, and added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 Tbsp sugar, and some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great recipe.. but it does need some minor adjustments.. only 1tbsp of baking powder, 1tbsp of vanilla extract, and a little more milk to loosen the batter.. and you get perfect pancakes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
was out of bisquick pancake mix, but the fiancee wanted pancakes for breakfast. Jumped on here, found this recipe, liked how it was simple (despite my shock at how much baking powder) and came to find that these pancakes are even better than the bisquick mix. the only thing i changed was i added about 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract to help give it a little extra flavor. also, had to double the recipe, only because my fiancee and i LOVE pancakes. so thank you Clark Gable Pancakes! you've helped satisfy our cravings for pancakes on a day when we weren't sure if we could have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Excellent! Just what I was looking for. I'd been using mixes, but they just didn't hit it. I tried this out of curiosity and gave them to my wife this a.m. She loved them and remarked how much more "fluffy" they were than the standard box mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I thought I used the ingredient list as written, with added cinnamon, vanilla, and a touch of nutmeg, but now after we have eaten them and my husband really enjoyed them, I realize I didnt add the vegetable oil. I also omitted the salt on purpose, not sure what it's role is, but I try not to use much salt when I cook. So I am not sure what the veg. oil does, but these were very good without it. Just the right amount of fluff for us. Sometimes pancakes get so fluffy that it is hard for them to cook. These were perfect. I used a 1/3 cup to measure out ingredients, so I used that to pour out the pancakes also and I got about 8 4inch pancakes. I was drawn to this recipe by the name. I enjoy reading the reviews but I also would enjoy to learn more about the origination of the recipe and why so named. Maybe Clark Gable accidentally added 2TBL of baking powder and decided to keep it? Anyways, thank you for sharing. DH really enjoyed them this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
What a great base receipe! I love to cook and experiment with different flavors. With this receipe, I used 1/2 cup of skim milk and 1/2 cup of canned milk and I added some blueberries into the mix. The pancakes were so good. Thanks for sharing....Karen I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States