Clare's Whole Wheat Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
The dough continued to be sticky and I did have to keep having to add flour just to work with it some. The taste was delicious still!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Without a pan this recipe flattens out. They aren't stiff/strong enough to stand alone as balls or loaves without a pan. But the recipe itself, is FANTASTIC. even my mishapen 'rolls' taste fantastic. The bread is fluffy, stretchy, soft and beautiful. In half of the recipe I added oats and it turned out beautiful. It is slightly hard on the outside and soft on the inside. perfect bread recipe. Next time I will try more wheat flour and see if it holds as I preffer 100% whole wheat. I also might invest in some pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I modified the recipe to bake in a one quart cast iron Dutch oven, and I added two tbsp. of chopped onion to top of loaf before baking. The results were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I went with a white-flour version of the recipe, replacing all of the wheat and AP flour with bread flour. I upped the honey to 1/3 cup. I added an extra packet of yeast. In addition, I proofed the yeast with a mixture of all the wet ingredients, plus the salt. It was a big hit, and the family loved it. It had a fluffy texture and just enough sweetness to set it apart from an ordinary white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Pretty easy to make, and turned out really nice. The top of each loaf got really brown, so I ended up taking it out earlier - but that's probably my oven's fault. It's about as humid as it gets here in Louisiana, so I might add more flour next time. It was really sticky, but rose well. Might try with more honey next time to make it a bit more flavorful. Good texture, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
even tho I changed it up abit it was still a very nice textured and tasteful loaf of bread. Next time I will cut in half as to only get 1 lg loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Made this yesterday afternoon. I too had to add an extra cup if not more of flour. I was a little concerned as the dough was still a little sticky and quite heavy but they rose beautifully and the bread was excellent. Will definately be a keeper in our home! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Excellent bread recipe, will be my go to for wheat bread from now on. Has a great texture, very soft instead of heavy and dense as wheat bread tends to be. My only changes were to use butter instead of margarine, increased the honey to 1/3 cup and I did need extra flour but it's super humid in KC. Made three big loaves, one of which was gone within a couple of hours. Used my kitchen aide to do the kneading with the bread hook for 10mins. For those who said the bread didn't rise well, you might want to alter to steps and proof your yeast with the warm water separately, then add the rest of your ingredients. Also kneading thoroughly makes for better crumb and structure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Made 3 very large loaves...will make 4 next time. Very tasty, beautiful loaf. 30 mins baking for high alt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Piccioni-Hann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Magdalena, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I thought this was a wonderful recipe. My daughter loves Potato Bread so I tried this for her. I did two things differently that absolutely do not take away from this receipe, it's just the ingredients I had. I keep yeast for bread making so did not use the individual packets and I used oil in my bread instead of margarine. I came up with two beautiful loaves of bread and I will use this recipe again. Just a BTW to Pam's review: I have learned that depending on the humidity, the amount of flour can vary even within any yeast bread recipe. Don't worry about it just keep a little extra flour out and available while you are putting this or any bread recipe together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States