Claremont Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is excellent. I grew up eating at the Claremont Diner and it's right on the money. Make it a day in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I don’t know anything about the Claremont Diner’s salad, so I had no problem tinkering with the recipe. I doubled the dressing and substituted cider vinegar for about half of the white vinegar and olive oil for half of the vegetable oil. I also added some black pepper and about 2 t. of celery seed to the dressing. I grated the carrots instead of slicing and omitted the onions because my husband isn’t crazy about them. I’m sure the salad is better after chilling for several hours, but I enjoyed it right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This is the first time I ahve ever seen this recipe in print. I too grew up eating at the Claremont Diner. Not only that, but my grandmother made this very often. I am now in the food service industry, have tweaked the recipe just a bit, as so many people in my area seem to have a strange aversion to onions. But it is a MAJOR favorite at any type function, and a much requested dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Wonderful! I love it! I pulled everything out of my garden and pantry. No extra planning or special trips to the store. That's the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was the best! It tastes better as the days go by. It's like a cole slaw, but the sauce really makes it fantastic! Thanks for the recipe Rebecca! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Perfect side with blackend fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
My family really likes this slaw. Also it keeps well for several days, so I can plan several meals around it for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I made this for a BBQ I hosted recently. Very light and tasty. As a plus, some of my guests were vegan/vegetarian and this was a dish they could enjoy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna B
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I've been looking for a Claremont Salad recipe, and this one is so close to what I wanted. I doubled the recipe, and added thinly sliced celery (6 stalks). I also used 3-16 oz. bags of very thinly shredded cabbage from the produce section of my grocery to save on time. The end result is wonderful and was a huge hit at the family gathering that I made it for. Very light and refreshing on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States