Clara's White German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I was a little intimidated when I read the recipe but I was up for the challenge. It was really not that difficult and it came out so good in the end. My family said it belonged in a gourmet bakery, it was so pretty and the cake was really light and fluffy. I save this one for special occassions or when I want to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithsihp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made these into cupcakes with these changes: 6.5 ounces white chocolate buttons, 2 cups all-purpose flour + 2T corn starch (no cake flour), 1/2 cup margarine (already using sour cream and doubled the chocolate), 1.5 cups white sugar, 1 cup sour cream (no buttermilk), and left out the coconut and pecans. Baked them in a convection toaster oven at 325F for 10 minutes (mini cupcakes) or 15 minutes (for regular cupcakes). They were a little sweet for me, but my officemates say they are great! I got a request to make some 3 dozens for our christmas party! Next time I'll use better quality chocolate. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizMilitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
This is well worth the effort. I got lots of compliments, and loved how light it was. It's a great alternative to a heavier dark chocolate version. I used cream cheese frosting in the middle, and frosted the rest with a traditional german chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is a must have cake. One of the best cakes around. A lot of eggs and a lot of work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Excellent consistency and texture. This is the most delicious "from scratch" cake that I have ever tasted! My husband and 2 eight year olds gave it an A+ rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this cake for my daughter's 20th birthday and we all loved it. I don't think there is anything I would change about the recipe. I would agree with another reviewer, that the directions don't tell you how to melt the white chocolate, but other than that it was perfect. I just melted the white chocolate in a heat proof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. It was delicious. Thanks Sallie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Excellent!!! I used this as the base cake for the "Tiramisu Layer Cake" recipe instead of using a box cake. Will definitely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I love this recipe. It is now the only one I use for birthday cakes. I also use dark chocolate as well when chocolate cake is the flavor of the day:) I found the cake super moist, slightly dense(like I wanted) with a soft crumb. Beautiful. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have made this cake several times and always find it to be excellent. Cakes are desserts and suppose to be sweet, just cut a smaller piece. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I have been searching for a rich and creamy moderately dense white cake and this is it! Try it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States