Clara's White German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have made this cake several times and always find it to be excellent. Cakes are desserts and suppose to be sweet, just cut a smaller piece. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Excellent consistency and texture. This is the most delicious "from scratch" cake that I have ever tasted! My husband and 2 eight year olds gave it an A+ rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Kunkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Excellent!!! I used this as the base cake for the "Tiramisu Layer Cake" recipe instead of using a box cake. Will definitely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this cake for my daughter's 20th birthday and we all loved it. I don't think there is anything I would change about the recipe. I would agree with another reviewer, that the directions don't tell you how to melt the white chocolate, but other than that it was perfect. I just melted the white chocolate in a heat proof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. It was delicious. Thanks Sallie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made these into cupcakes with these changes: 6.5 ounces white chocolate buttons, 2 cups all-purpose flour + 2T corn starch (no cake flour), 1/2 cup margarine (already using sour cream and doubled the chocolate), 1.5 cups white sugar, 1 cup sour cream (no buttermilk), and left out the coconut and pecans. Baked them in a convection toaster oven at 325F for 10 minutes (mini cupcakes) or 15 minutes (for regular cupcakes). They were a little sweet for me, but my officemates say they are great! I got a request to make some 3 dozens for our christmas party! Next time I'll use better quality chocolate. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizMilitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I was a little intimidated when I read the recipe but I was up for the challenge. It was really not that difficult and it came out so good in the end. My family said it belonged in a gourmet bakery, it was so pretty and the cake was really light and fluffy. I save this one for special occassions or when I want to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithsihp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is a must have cake. One of the best cakes around. A lot of eggs and a lot of work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
This is well worth the effort. I got lots of compliments, and loved how light it was. It's a great alternative to a heavier dark chocolate version. I used cream cheese frosting in the middle, and frosted the rest with a traditional german chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I love this recipe. It is now the only one I use for birthday cakes. I also use dark chocolate as well when chocolate cake is the flavor of the day:) I found the cake super moist, slightly dense(like I wanted) with a soft crumb. Beautiful. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I have been searching for a rich and creamy moderately dense white cake and this is it! Try it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States