Clapshot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My mum is from Scotland and my brothers and I grew up on this! Plain mashed will never be good enough after trying....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I make this often although I never had a name for it nor a recipe. We call it "root vegetables mixture". I also add cooked beets to the mixture when I mash it all together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is exactly like the dish my mother-in-law used to make and she was of French-Canadian descent - the family always asks for it when we get together and I have had company rave about it as a substitute for plain mashed potatoes - the turnip does not come through on its own as all the flavors blend well. I usually use a little more potato to equal amounts of turnip and carrot and milk rather than cream, although I like the idea of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was really amazing! I'm so glad to have found this recipe! It was like having mashed potatoes with a little extra kick. :) I didn't have to put anything in it to make most of my family like it, we enjoyed it with butter and salt and pepper. Thanks for a great recipe...with heritage! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Being of Scottish descent I jumped on this recipe and loved it. Took a large portion to lunch with my friends and they loved it too, although they were completely surprised by the combination. Excellent! I did delete the heavy cream to lighten up on the fat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I made this for my husband who is of Scottish heritage, and he loved it! It was delicious and a nice way to spruce up plain old mashed potatoes. I did add crumbled bacon as suggested in another recipe, but it would be delicious without. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is the first recipe I have used turnips in and was pleasantly surprised at the taste! I will definetly make this again, thanks Grant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is always good and we have been making it for years (my mother did too) but this is the first time I knew it had a name.......thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I, and my siblings grew up on this dish. When I would tell my grade school friends, the reaction was " eew, turnip?" So I finally asked my mum what this dish was called she said " my invention". Well, we all loved it even if it didn't have a real name. WhenI was in college, I asked her again. This time the answer was " Nannie ( her grandmother from Ireland) taught me. So, OK. When I once more asked her in my fifties, she said "I like mashed potatoes, and I really love turnip but I don't like carrots at all. So Nannie made this combination so I would "eat those carrots!!" When I became a mother I did the same thing so that I could "eat my carrots", and never let the children know that I didn't like 'em."See what a mother will do for her children?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I was given turnips and I had no idea what to do with them so I tried this and I was very glad! It's wonderful!! As a matter of fact I made it for the children at my child care center and they ate them all up!! I just added salt and pepper, butter and milk instead of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States