Clapshot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I like this, but my husband thought it was bland. I was afraid he would, so I boiled the veggies in diluted chicken stock for a little extra flavor, but I guess it wasn't enough. I will make it again, though I'll have to find a way to spice it up for him I guess. I thought it was a good variation of regular old mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
A very nice combo of turnip and potatoes. I'm not a turnip fan, but this was pretty good. Even my father, who never eats turnip, had a small second helping! Thanks for the recipe - next time I'll try adding the crumbled bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I made this for my husband who is of Scottish heritage, and he loved it! It was delicious and a nice way to spruce up plain old mashed potatoes. I did add crumbled bacon as suggested in another recipe, but it would be delicious without. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My mum is from Scotland and my brothers and I grew up on this! Plain mashed will never be good enough after trying....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Being of Scottish descent I jumped on this recipe and loved it. Took a large portion to lunch with my friends and they loved it too, although they were completely surprised by the combination. Excellent! I did delete the heavy cream to lighten up on the fat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was really amazing! I'm so glad to have found this recipe! It was like having mashed potatoes with a little extra kick. :) I didn't have to put anything in it to make most of my family like it, we enjoyed it with butter and salt and pepper. Thanks for a great recipe...with heritage! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is the first recipe I have used turnips in and was pleasantly surprised at the taste! I will definetly make this again, thanks Grant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I, and my siblings grew up on this dish. When I would tell my grade school friends, the reaction was " eew, turnip?" So I finally asked my mum what this dish was called she said " my invention". Well, we all loved it even if it didn't have a real name. WhenI was in college, I asked her again. This time the answer was " Nannie ( her grandmother from Ireland) taught me. So, OK. When I once more asked her in my fifties, she said "I like mashed potatoes, and I really love turnip but I don't like carrots at all. So Nannie made this combination so I would "eat those carrots!!" When I became a mother I did the same thing so that I could "eat my carrots", and never let the children know that I didn't like 'em."See what a mother will do for her children?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is always good and we have been making it for years (my mother did too) but this is the first time I knew it had a name.......thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Try using sour cream instead of milk and some grated cheese makes it good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States