Clapshot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I like this, but my husband thought it was bland. I was afraid he would, so I boiled the veggies in diluted chicken stock for a little extra flavor, but I guess it wasn't enough. I will make it again, though I'll have to find a way to spice it up for him I guess. I thought it was a good variation of regular old mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
A very nice combo of turnip and potatoes. I'm not a turnip fan, but this was pretty good. Even my father, who never eats turnip, had a small second helping! Thanks for the recipe - next time I'll try adding the crumbled bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I made this for my husband who is of Scottish heritage, and he loved it! It was delicious and a nice way to spruce up plain old mashed potatoes. I did add crumbled bacon as suggested in another recipe, but it would be delicious without. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My mum is from Scotland and my brothers and I grew up on this! Plain mashed will never be good enough after trying....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Being of Scottish descent I jumped on this recipe and loved it. Took a large portion to lunch with my friends and they loved it too, although they were completely surprised by the combination. Excellent! I did delete the heavy cream to lighten up on the fat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was really amazing! I'm so glad to have found this recipe! It was like having mashed potatoes with a little extra kick. :) I didn't have to put anything in it to make most of my family like it, we enjoyed it with butter and salt and pepper. Thanks for a great recipe...with heritage! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is the first recipe I have used turnips in and was pleasantly surprised at the taste! I will definetly make this again, thanks Grant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is always good and we have been making it for years (my mother did too) but this is the first time I knew it had a name.......thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Try using sour cream instead of milk and some grated cheese makes it good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I, and my siblings grew up on this dish. When I would tell my grade school friends, the reaction was " eew, turnip?" So I finally asked my mum what this dish was called she said " my invention". Well, we all loved it even if it didn't have a real name. WhenI was in college, I asked her again. This time the answer was " Nannie ( her grandmother from Ireland) taught me. So, OK. When I once more asked her in my fifties, she said "I like mashed potatoes, and I really love turnip but I don't like carrots at all. So Nannie made this combination so I would "eat those carrots!!" When I became a mother I did the same thing so that I could "eat my carrots", and never let the children know that I didn't like 'em."See what a mother will do for her children?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States