Clams Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
YUM! The family really liked this for our 7 fish deast on Christmas Eve. HINT: Once you scrub the clams, put them in a bowl of cold water and sprinkle 1 T corn meal over them. Let them sit for half and hour then rinse and cook. This cornmeal "snack" feeds them and they spit out any sand they have inside in favor of the cornmeal. Learned this trick from Cooking Light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars for several reasons. I cooked it as directed, except for the amount of clams, and felt several things were out of sink. First, 2 cups of wine is more then needed, 1 cup would be plenty. Secondy, I would increase the amount of red pepper flakes to 2 teaspoons, for a little extra kick. With that said, I thought this was real good as is, but could have been better. What really blew my mind was the amount of clams it called for....."36 small clams in shell"....to serve 6. Are you serious?? I cooked up 5# of small calms, about 150-200 clams, and had enough sauce left over for 100 more. Who eats just 6 clams? Anyway....I'm sure I will make this again, with the changes I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merchantville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
wonderful recipe! i made this as an appetiser this evening for my boyfriend (he is milano italian, extremely picky eater) and myself.i served it with extra fresh parsley and lemon wedges, crusty bread. was only able to eat two clams because my boyfriend hogged the bowl and ate everything, but i was just happy dipping the bread in the broth. It's great (the sauce) on spaghetti too. excellent with a glass of good white wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
I have made this recipe several times. I put the clams and sauce over linguine and it is wonderful. My father used to make linguine and clam sauce all the time and it took me a long time to find a recipe that is nearly as good, this is it.... Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Guay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
There should be a 5+ star option on here!!! All I'm going to say is "Oh my gosh...." ironically, that was all that was said while my fiancee and his friends *inhaled* all 40 clams. The only change I made was doubling the garlic (that's just our personal taste - severe garlic lovers!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIX_8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
We were looking for a recipe that we could recreate at home to one of our favorite appetizers, this recipe is the closet we have found, substituting chicken broth for the white wine made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
We did not like this at all. I used a Chardonnay wine. Maybe that was the wrong wine to use. Too much oregano and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Very tasty and easy to make. It is great as a meal or an appetizer. Remember the dipping bread, that is the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This recipe was just delicious and so very easy! We went to a restaurant and ordered clams and they were excellent but my husband thought that these clams were even better!! Big compliment, coming from a critic. My son even loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Ive been doing this recipe for a few years now, although i also put shrimp and throw some fresh basil(makes a huge difference). This is served well over angel hair pasta, and you can still dip your bread. Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States