Clams Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was so good and so easy. I reduced the amount of butter and wine just a tad, and used fresh parsley. I could have drank the sauce, it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
My son and his girlfriend came to dinner last night. I wanted to make something a little "different" for them, so following many of the suggestions by other posters, we had this dish in its main course form with 5 lb of mahogany clams. I reduced the wine by half, replacing it with chicken broth and used 3 T of grated garlic. This one goes into permanent record!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My son is scarfing them down as I write. Said these are the best clams he has ever eaten (he's 8). Tweaked the recipe as I was out of oregano. One cup of wine, butter, parsley, fresh garlic and a dash of granulated garlic made this recipe fabulous, easy and very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I agree with other reviewers' comments that it's way too much wine and oregano. Used half cup of wine and there's about 1 cup of liquid left at the end. And too much oregano even for 2 cups of wines. I used Sauv.Bl the first time and too tannic and acid. The second time I used a drinkable chardonnay and turned out way better. Reduce dried oregano (organic) to 1 teaspoon, you can always add more afterwards, but you can't take it back once there. Also added the red pepper flakes the 2nd time, and the taste of the broth completely changed, therefore be cautious about the amount used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Causeway Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I served them as an appetizer for hubby's b-day, and everyone loved them!! Receipe was awesome, as wriiten, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great recipe!! Super easy and fast! I like to add spicy sausage. It gives it an extra kick. It tastes excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
There was too much wine in this recipe, I think between half a cup and one cup would be sufficient. Also, some added lemon juice gives it just an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
YUM! The family really liked this for our 7 fish deast on Christmas Eve. HINT: Once you scrub the clams, put them in a bowl of cold water and sprinkle 1 T corn meal over them. Let them sit for half and hour then rinse and cook. This cornmeal "snack" feeds them and they spit out any sand they have inside in favor of the cornmeal. Learned this trick from Cooking Light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was delicious! I made it for my fiance and I for dinner and we absolutely loved it! The sauce was so good we decided to save the leftovers and use it on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Wow fabulous recipe. Just tried it but did not have white so I used a Red Merlot from France. Very delicious. I am having it again next week for company so wanted to be the guinie pig. Five stars from me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickyt51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States