Clams Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
DELICIOUS and a life-saver for me when my dad randomly came home with a bag of clams...and asked ME to cook them. I will definitely save this recipe for the future. Another page on this website told me something essential to cooking clams and that is that you can tell when clams, unlike mussels, are fully cooked when their shells open, and this takes about 4 minutes. I made the mistake of cooking my first dozen clams for 15 minutes, and although they were still good, they were a bit chewy. 4 minutes was perfect and so were my next dozen clams :) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
AMAZING. We made this with 100 manila steamer clams and it was SO GOOD! Our few tweaks were fresh parsley, a pinch of dried onion and fresh squeezed lemon juice. Even our 9yr old raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this recipe today. Loved it!!!!! Crab legs, cole slaw and mini ears of corn rounded it out. No white wine in the house, so chicken stock. Increased the pepper flakes to a tablespoon. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this tonight using cherrystone clams. It was excellent. Everyone enjoyed it and we didn't change a thing. Get good crusty bread to sop up the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
My boyfriend just returned from a fishing trip to B.C. He brought back a bunch of fresh clams. He had me get a recipe on our favorite site, All Recipes, and we came up with this one. OMG is all I can say. It is heavenly. I would have to agree with the other reviewer though that you could cut the butter and wine in half. I did use a homemade Chardonnay and it was delicious. And dipping your bread is a must. Kudos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
One word: Orgasmic But do away with the butter and use olive oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I add 1/2 the clams and then add muscles. Also, I use clam juice.... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. This was my first time making clams, and this recipe is easy and impressive. I only gave it four stars because I will omit the red pepper flakes from now on (though I know they were optional, I wanted to try it). They make the dish too spicy for me. Otherwise this dish is great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEFFY4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent! First time I've ever tried steamed clams, and it was a big hit! Knowing the spice tolerance of my guest, I replaced the red pepper flakes with about a teaspoon or so of Old Bay. Also thickened the sauce with corn starch. Wonderful results!! I'll put it over linguine next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My husband and I love this dish. It is so easy and the sauce is always fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States