Clams Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This had good flavor and the clams were tasty. Next time I make, not so much oregano, used fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~NorCal Mom~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
excellent & great broth for bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is a good recipe but the wine was just too much and overpowering for us. I made it again the next day because we just all love clams and instead of 2 cups of wine, I used only 1 and used 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock. 36 clams for 6 people is also not realistic. Between 3 people, we easily had 4 pounds of clams (which was way more than 36) and could have had more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Much too brothy. Lacked depth of flavor. Not sure how to fix it. Need enough liquid to steam the clams, but the broth/sauce needs butter, olive oil and undiluted seasonings. Won't make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Loved this and it was so easy! Made it twice this summer first time for just our family & then again for friends.....everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Excellent I used fresh manilla clams, next time I'll add shrimp,squid, and scallops to this fine dish.bread is needed for dipping in sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
excellent recipe! we really enjoyed the clam liquor. will definetly will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
could anyone give recommendations. is there a way to not to use dry white wine, (because of belief issue) thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Just tried this today. Used fewer clams because they were really large. RESULTS: PRO: Tastes good enough to serve in a restaurant. Broth really smells and tastes delicious. Easy to save all that broth to put on pasta later. CON: clams a bit tough even though I removed them right when they popped open. I thought the oregano flavor was just a bit too strong. I probably shouldn't have used oregano. I thought it was perfect with just garlic and parsley. Also I simmered too long and broth got just a bit too salty. 4 stars because the flavor was very good but not mind blowing. Next time: Less or no oregano. Unsalted butter Figure out how to get more tender clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
DELICIOUS and a life-saver for me when my dad randomly came home with a bag of clams...and asked ME to cook them. I will definitely save this recipe for the future. Another page on this website told me something essential to cooking clams and that is that you can tell when clams, unlike mussels, are fully cooked when their shells open, and this takes about 4 minutes. I made the mistake of cooking my first dozen clams for 15 minutes, and although they were still good, they were a bit chewy. 4 minutes was perfect and so were my next dozen clams :) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States