Clams Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
First and foremost, hold back on the wine with this one!! The sauce comes out way to watery/thin. I would like to try the recipe again, but this time I will reduce the wine and possibly add a little flour to thicken the sauce up. Flavor was good. I tossed it with fettucini and served with fresh, Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
excellent recipe, I would reduce the amount of wine. Also, we used unsalted butter but it tasted salty. Don't know what made it salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Fantastic! I use Chardonnay and 50 Mahogany clams. It was perfect and delicious and best of all easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I also agree with the individual that gave this recipe one star. The finished product definately had too much oregano and parsley and masked any other flavors. I'm giving this two stars though b/c I think it has potential and perhaps I also used the wrong wine. After I added fresh lemon juice, salt, pepper, and fresh parmesan the broth was tolerably palatable. I will not be following this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Leddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
great recipe, i reduced the wine by 1 cup and added half a chicken bullion cube for more flavor. I also reduced the oregano by half. Otherwise very good. Served it with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Actually, my boyfriend made this for my birthday dinner a few months ago. It turned out great, except that he didn't know you're supposed to soak the clams before cooking so they release all the sand and other grossness...I feel that should be added to the recipe instructions for newer cooks! Otherwise, great recipe as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I usually serve this dish over linguine, but most recently, I cooked the clams and sauce in a large foil pan on the grill and served it with crusty Italian bread as an appetizer. Received many compliments. And you can freeze the leftover sauce for another meal -- just add some fresh clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueHydrangea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Just made this for dinner--wonderful! The sauce is wondrful with bread---but we also served it over bow tie pasta. Great way to start the holiday weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen O'Connell Leontovich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Yeah, it was really good. I used one teaspoon oregano and and a half teaspoon of red pepper. My son and I ate about 5 pounds of clams. Also had bread and salad. Like I said...really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My husband and I thought this was great. I used chicken broth instead of wine and added fresh herbs from my herb garden. Basil, Oregano, and Parsley. Served with angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States