Clams Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Everyone loved this. Even my 6 year old who turned up her nose when I was cooking them. I did change the wine to chicken stock. I used littleneck clams, so I just made a 100 count bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heilwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was outstanding! I've never made clams before, but order them often when we're out. I was tempted by all the great reviews, and I've gotta tell you, these were just awesome. I can't believe how easy these were to make and will be making them often. My husband even loved them and he isn't the biggest fan. The other clam lovers that were here couldn't stop raving them. BRAVO! notes: I only had cooking wine on hand, and felt it worked fine. I made one batch as a test, left the broth on the range and only added butter to make the second batch. Everyone loved the broth for dipping their crusty bread in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quarryville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Yum-bola! I, too, had never made clams before, but now that I know how easy it is to prepare a delicious clams appetizer, I'll make them often. I did heed some of the other reviewers' remarks about the amount of broth, and halved the broth recipe while keeping the specified amount of clams. Still had plenty of yummy broth to sop up with some crusty bread. I do agree that 6 servings is a stretch - it's too tasty to just eat 6 clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I've never made clams before and I decided to make this recipe for Christmas eve. Everyone raved about them! My husband said that they're the best clams he ever had. I don't eat clams, but the sauce smelled delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars for several reasons. I cooked it as directed, except for the amount of clams, and felt several things were out of sink. First, 2 cups of wine is more then needed, 1 cup would be plenty. Secondy, I would increase the amount of red pepper flakes to 2 teaspoons, for a little extra kick. With that said, I thought this was real good as is, but could have been better. What really blew my mind was the amount of clams it called for....."36 small clams in shell"....to serve 6. Are you serious?? I cooked up 5# of small calms, about 150-200 clams, and had enough sauce left over for 100 more. Who eats just 6 clams? Anyway....I'm sure I will make this again, with the changes I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merchantville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Excellent. Easy and very tasty. My husband makes them at tailgates too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This is AWESOME! Made exactly as recipe says and got rave reviews from everyone at our BBQ. Don't skip the bread you will need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I made this tonite for dinner, exactly as it was written. WONDERFUL!! Don't change a thing!!! My husband at first thought it was to garlic-y but then as he ate the clams he said it was like we were out for a very expensive dinner! Everyone loved them - including my 4 year old daughter! Make sure you get alot of bread - this sauce is amazing! 5 Stars!!!!! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEGOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This recipe was excellent. I didn't have wine ( I realized this after I bought the clams) so I used 2 C chicken broth instead and it was awesome. I love the red pepper in this recipe. I makes a huge and tasty difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This was great, make sure you have some good bread to dip into the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States