Clam with Tomato and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Not impressed at all! Basically was a regular tomato soup but "beefed up". Still tasted ok, bust was disappointed. Even used suggestions of less tomato sauce, crushed red pepper etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was pretty good. It seemed like it was missing something, not sure what though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is incredibly popular in my house. I made a batch (again) last night and most of it is gone - and there are just 3 of us. Changes I make: 2 instead of one can of clams; 1 15-oz can of diced tomatoes in place of 2 of the cans of tomato sauce; and either I add a bit of crushed red pepper, or one of the cans of tomato sauce I do use is Goya picante (hot) flavored tomato sauce (because practically anything with tomatoes is better with a little pepper, even if it's so little you can't put your finger on what's there). Oh, and I use a 12-oz can condensed milk instead of cream and dried instead of fresh basil (because they're always in my pantry, like all the other ingredients of this soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I don't really understand why people liked this recipe. I didn't care for it and I did everything the recipe said. Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I followed this recipe as directed but added a little bit more clams. It was easy to make and tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I was a little nervous about clams and rice together. I should have listened to that sense. I often try to upgrade a ho-hum recipe on my next try, but I don't think I'll come back to this one in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This soup was incredibly good! I did use more clams, 1 lb of frozen chopped and instead of water I used clam broth...will definately be making this again and again...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
After reading the reviews, I tweaked the recipe to my own thoughts. I doubled the amount of clams and also subbed the one cup of water at the end with an 8 oz. bottle of clam juice. I had no problem with the acidity of the tomato sauce. Best new soup recipe that I've come across in quite awhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I gave this 4 stars because it was a fantastic idea and made a wonderful base for me to change. With the tweaking, my husband and I give it 5 stars. Here is what I changed: 1 cup of rice, white onion instead of red, 10 oz can whole baby clams undrained, 1 cup corn, 1 15oz can tomato sauce, 1 cup milk instead of cream. In addition I also used a half can of diced tomatoes and some crushed red pepper. I also didn't simmer as long. I think clams get rubbery if cooked a long time so I didn't chance it. I just served it when the corn was done which was after about 10 min. Everything else in the recipe I kept the same. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is wonderful soup! I also added 1 can Italian diced tomatoes. I used 2 cans of minced clams (undrained)and I added a little (maybe 1-2 tablespoons) sugar to blend out the flavors. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States