Clam with Tomato and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
The tomato sauce was a bit overpowering so I would next time, use 2 or 3 cans, 2 cups of milk(I used milk instead of cream) instead of one( we all ended up adding milk to all of our bowls to eat this soup because the tomato sauce was so strong!), add some chopped tomatoes instead, definitely go with a whole cup each of corn and red onion, and honestly I was disappointed becasue the clams didn't make an impact at all. If you do want the soup to be more about the clams, add at least one or two more cans. But what I'm going to do is save my money and not buy the clams next time and just enjoy a creamy tomato soup. Oh, and the butter--totally useless. Usually, in most recipes, I tend to reduce the butter and I thought about doing that for this recipe and bringing it down to one TB but I was afraid I would sacrifice flavor, so I went ahead and used it. However, since I couldn't taste any hint of it through the overwhelming taste of tomato sauce, I'm sure even sauteeing the onions in a little EVOO would have done the trick. Overall, good recipe, just a little too tomato saucey and not much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Added a bit of red pepper flakes, one tablespoon sugar. Substituted evaporated milk for the heavy cream and added 1/4 to 1/2 cup grated Gruyere cheese. Next time I will use less tomato sauce and add chopped, plum tomatoes from a can. I thought the clams were a bit lost, so may use some bottled clam juice next time or double the amount of clams called for. All-in-all, I enjoyed this and will enjoy tinkering with it a bit more. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I just finished making this soup and it is excellent. I adjusted the recipe a bit, because I didn't have any corn. Instead, I used a rice mix that had lentils in it. Turned out to be a great substitution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was my first attempt at soup and it turned out fantastic. As suggested by other reviewers I added red pepper flakes, used the clam water from the canned clams instead of water (you don't need to salt the soup if you go this way) and only used a fraction of the cream. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This soup really surprised me. I wasn't expecting it to be as scrumptious as it was. I modified the recipe a bit. Instead of using 1/2 cup of corn, I used a can of corn, water and all. Because of the water in the corn, and the juice from the can of clams, I didn't add the cup of water to the soup before letting it simmer, and it came out perfectly. I also added some hot red pepper flakes for a little heat, and thought the sweetness of the corn and the spicy pepper complimented each other well. This one's so good and so easy to make. I can't recommend it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Tasty, fast, easy recipe. I needed to go grocery shopping and was down to practically bare cupboards when I found this easy recipe. Luckily I had most of the ingredients it called for (sans the onion so I sub'ed minced onion). I served this with biscuits; it was a hit. A few notes: I would probably add a bit more rice next time. Also, I ended up adding 1 cup of corn rather than the 1/2 cup it called for (I like a hearty soup). Lastly, even though I have been cooking for years, I made a novice error: I over-salted. I didn't realize that the tomato sauce would already have salt added so I added my usual amount of salt to the recipe. Needless to say, it would have been better with less salt (I added extra water to compensate). Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Child of the World

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe is delicious! I added some red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit, and I think in the future I'll use less cream to cut back the fat content. But otherwise, it was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Magnifico, a thick and hearty soup. I added 1TBS sugar to cut the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Wonderful, tasty soup!! My entire family ate this eagerly, even my 4 children who have rarely eaten clams. Very hearty and satisfying- a delicious tomato soup. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
The best tomato soup that I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States