Clam Sauce with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made this with a few changes and it turned out fantastic! My wife just would not stop raving about it. I cut the recipe in half, because there are only two of us. I doubled the garlic and doubled the clams. But the second can of clams were drained. I added some red pepper flakes and also added about a half cup of good white wine. It turns out to be a very special dish. You could definately put it into your rotation or keep it for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Hess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISEREADER
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Very, very good and simple. Like many others, I made this with some variations. I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup xtra Virgin olive oil. I also used 5 cloves of garlic. I added 1 tbl of Old Bay (you may omit any additional salt if you use O.B.). After everything was brought up to temperature, I added 3 dollops of sour cream and thickened with a little corn starch. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
We all loved this. I did make a few changes though. Instead of 1/2 a cup of butter, I used 1/4 cup of butter, and a 1/4 cup of olive oil. I also doubled the garlic because we love it. I undercooked the pasta by a minute or two, and added some pasta water to the sauce, to thicken it up a bit. Then I added the pasta to the sauce and cooked it for a few minutes to absorb the sauce better. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is just a basic starter recipe of which you can adjust to your liking. Being Italian, and my wife and I liking this dish, I can make some recommendations. First of all you should add a can, or jar of baby WHOLE clams in with the chopped clams. Much more meaty. Secondly, after the garlic has lightly browned deglaze the pan with 1/3 cup dry white wine or dry sherry (NOT the cooking wine stuff). And lastly, Chopped basil has much more flavor than parsley. And another thing. What is this with all complaints of the sauce being "to runny"? It's supposed to be runny!! Any Italian, or most anybody who likes this dish knows that you eat it with bread. And you use the bread to sop up the "runny" sauce. And don't complain about "that's to much bread" because it only takes about two small slices of Italian bread to do the job. If you're gonna do it, do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Very good and sooo easy! I loved the flavor, but the sauce seemed a bit too watery with all of the clam juice added, so I stirred in the parm. cheese while it was cooking to thicken it up a bit. I will definately be making this one again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was a fantastic dinner for my husband and I. Since kids don't like mushrooms, it has become our favorite for when it's just us. Get pre-sliced mushrooms and this is FAST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This was a big hit with my dinner guests. I served Ali's Amazing Bruschetta (also Allrecipes) as an excellent appetizer. Per others' reviews I made these changes: 1 extra can of clams w/juice, extra garlic, decreased butter to 1/4 c. supplemented with olive oil, substituted freshly ground black pepper. My own changes: I thickened sauce with flour/pan juice roux, substitued pre-made pesto to taste for fresh parsley, and added 1/2 c. dry white wine shortly before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was really good. However I did add a splash of white wine which I think is key. So fast and easy, I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I cooked this dish twice with fettuccine, made changes to this recipe for a healthier dish. Used olive oil instead of butter to saute garlic and mushroom and used milk and flour to thicken the sauce. (saute flour together with garlic and mushroom and add in 1/2 cup of milk). Also, I used canned chunk tuna instead of clams as I could not find canned clams in where I live. My fiance and I love this pasta very much, especially with lots of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was the best! I added extra clams and plenty of parmesan. Comments from guests, 'why go out to eat when you can eat like this at home'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States