Clam Sauce with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very good! As others mentioned, I used a 1/2 and 1/2 butter to olive oil ratio. Sautéed chopped shallots along with the garlic. Added 1 extra can of clams and thickened at the end with a bit of mascarpone. Used parsley/garlic linguini and let the cooked pasta soak in the sauce for a few minutes before plating. There was nothing left - both kids (11 & 13) ate every bite and the hubs finished what little was leftover in the pan. Had parmesan and red pepper flakes on the table to add if wanted. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amycb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
added a little more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drubes45
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Very easy and fast. Made a few modifications per other reviewers. Didn't use butter, just a little olive oil to saute the mushrooms and garlic. Added some red pepper flakes and white wine. Drained one of the cans of clams. Used whole wheat pasta and added to pan to let it soak up sauce before serving. My daughters really liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I loved this recipe. Thank you for posting it. The reason for the four stars is because the rest of my family didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Very yummy! The only changes i made were use 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup olive oil, instead of all butter, and double the amount of garlic. My 11 year old daughter has requested this two times in the last two weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I followed this one to the letter (except I only had dried parsley) and it was great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly (as I always do first time out) and it was great! Hubby has european roots and when the kids said "gross mom, my bread got soggy!" (because the sauce is more of a thick broth than a sauce) I told them this is how true Italianos eat, so MOP IT UP! That changed everything and plates were cleaned. Didn't even wash 'em. Just put them on the shelves and ready for the next meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This recipe is yummy as is, but I can't resist tinkering! I used three cans of chopped clams and bought 2 dozen live cherrystone clams. I also bought a couple of jars of clam juice, and steamed the cherrystones in the clam juice, all of which I saved and reduced by 2/3 to make the sauce. I also used a head (bulb) of garlic crushed and sauted it with the sliced portobello mushrooms, adding the fresh (shucked) clams and canned chopped clams at the last minute, along with extra olive oil. Basically, I made an aglio-olio with clams and mushrooms. Toss the pasta with the reduced clam juice and serve with fresh Italian or French bread. Too good to be true! This recipe might sound complicated, but it is just as easy as the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Those of you making and incorporating a roux, or adding dollops of sour cream, thickners, etc., are NOT making clam sauce and should leave your reviews elsewhere, as appropriate. I don't know what is so difficult in understanding you're being asked to review THIS recipe, not something you've changed so dramatically it no longer can be called by the same name. If you have changes, submit your own recipe. I never understood reviewers who say something like "I didn't have any sugar so I substituded onion salt. I was out of candied ginger so I added bread and butter pickles instead. It was the worst cake I ever ate." That off my chest, this was, as written, DELIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States