Clam Sauce with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I loved this recipe. Thank you for posting it. The reason for the four stars is because the rest of my family didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Very yummy! The only changes i made were use 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup olive oil, instead of all butter, and double the amount of garlic. My 11 year old daughter has requested this two times in the last two weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I followed this one to the letter (except I only had dried parsley) and it was great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly (as I always do first time out) and it was great! Hubby has european roots and when the kids said "gross mom, my bread got soggy!" (because the sauce is more of a thick broth than a sauce) I told them this is how true Italianos eat, so MOP IT UP! That changed everything and plates were cleaned. Didn't even wash 'em. Just put them on the shelves and ready for the next meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This recipe is yummy as is, but I can't resist tinkering! I used three cans of chopped clams and bought 2 dozen live cherrystone clams. I also bought a couple of jars of clam juice, and steamed the cherrystones in the clam juice, all of which I saved and reduced by 2/3 to make the sauce. I also used a head (bulb) of garlic crushed and sauted it with the sliced portobello mushrooms, adding the fresh (shucked) clams and canned chopped clams at the last minute, along with extra olive oil. Basically, I made an aglio-olio with clams and mushrooms. Toss the pasta with the reduced clam juice and serve with fresh Italian or French bread. Too good to be true! This recipe might sound complicated, but it is just as easy as the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Those of you making and incorporating a roux, or adding dollops of sour cream, thickners, etc., are NOT making clam sauce and should leave your reviews elsewhere, as appropriate. I don't know what is so difficult in understanding you're being asked to review THIS recipe, not something you've changed so dramatically it no longer can be called by the same name. If you have changes, submit your own recipe. I never understood reviewers who say something like "I didn't have any sugar so I substituded onion salt. I was out of candied ginger so I added bread and butter pickles instead. It was the worst cake I ever ate." That off my chest, this was, as written, DELIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Super easy and yummy. I substituted 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup butter. I also used canned mushrooms to make it quick. I am definitely a novice chef, but my husband raved about this recipe. We will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Good. I cut the servings to 2, used 1/2 butter 1/2 olive oil, kept original amount of garlic and added a 1/2 cup of white wine while cooking the mushrooms and garlic. I can only imagine how fabulous this would be if I had fresh clams to steam instead of canned clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Super delicious! I don't know what else you could do to make this dish tastier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Delicious. Halved the butter, and used about a tblsp of evoo, added fresh basil.... DELICIOUS! ALSO- I used one can whole clams and 2 cans minced. Add some crushed red pepper. Oh my..... on dreamfields pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States