Clam Sauce with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Modifications- One can of clams and one can of oysters instead of 2 cans of clams Added a 1/4 cup of milk and 2 tbsp flour to thicken the sauce. Really yummy. Tasted as I would have imagined it to taste if I ordered this at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've made some adjustments to our family's taste. This is great basic recipe and fun for viewers tweak here and there! This is what I did: 1) I half and halved with butter and olive oil. 2) then added pinch of red pepper flakes for heat 3) in addition to garlic, I had 1 large shallot minced ( I wanted more flavor!) 4) then after browning shallot & garlic, I had 2 pounds of fresh clam on shell that I bought from fish market, so I drop them in the pot along with 2 can clams with juice! 5) I'm addition, I also poured in 1/3 cup of white wine 6) finally, I added 2 fresh roma tomatoes, peeled and diced, and follow the remaining recipe as shown. I let it simmered enough to reduce the sauce and it was SOOOOOOOOOO DELICIOUS!!! FLAVORFUL!!! My hubby literally drank the remaining sauce on his plate!!! Thanks for teaching me the basic of linguini with clams!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This recipe was great! I never realized how tasty clams in a can could be. I did tweak the recipe slightly to my taste in that I added a third can of clams and also added a quarter cup of white wine, which really helped to further bring out the flavor of the clams and add another dimension to the dish. My family cleaned their plates in no time and went back for seconds! It's so easy, straight-forward, and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I tweak this a little bit and don't use mushrooms. Add a tiny bit more garlic. It is so much better than some of restaurants who serve the same. Served with nice glass of white wine! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
4 stars as written. I thought it needed a few more clams. I cut the recipe in half (two of us) and added 2 10oz cans of baby clams-one drained, so it would be a little meatier. Used Baby Bella mushrooms, and added 1/2 cup Pinot Grigio. I used fresh Italian Parsley, but sprinkled it on top with the Parmesan as a garnish. Served this over Angel Hair Pasta because I wanted a thinner pasta this time, but will definitely make this again and try the linguini. Fantastic base recipe. Thank you for sharing it with us, Silvia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Super easy! I used some flour to thicken the sauce slightly. I also added some red peppers and cooked with the mushrooms. Turned about great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I read through many of the reviews & decided to double the amount of clams and substitute olive oil for half the butter. Excellent tip about finishing the pasta in the sauce! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Truly a 5-star recipe. I used only 1/4 cup of butter; otherwise, made no changes. This has become one of my very favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very good! As others mentioned, I used a 1/2 and 1/2 butter to olive oil ratio. Sautéed chopped shallots along with the garlic. Added 1 extra can of clams and thickened at the end with a bit of mascarpone. Used parsley/garlic linguini and let the cooked pasta soak in the sauce for a few minutes before plating. There was nothing left - both kids (11 & 13) ate every bite and the hubs finished what little was leftover in the pan. Had parmesan and red pepper flakes on the table to add if wanted. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amycb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
added a little more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drubes45
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States