Clam Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I really wanted to like these but they just didn't do it for me. The consistency was way off, move like a crepe. They would also benefit with some seasonings, old bay comes to mind. Perhaps if they were deep fried but that is not how the recipe is written. Sorry Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I agree about them being bland but that shouldn't be an obstacle…season them up as you see fit. I do not recommend frying them in the pan. I deep fried them and they puffed up into nice balls…I added about half a teaspoon of baking powder and doubled the recipe. I will make these again…fun way to serve clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Very delicious. I make easy homemade tartar to go along- mayo, sweet relish and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
These fritters disappeared so fast. After reading the reviews I decided to add a tsp of baking powder to the batter. The fritters did puff up nice with a golden outside and a puffy pillow inside. I did forgo the green peppers. Using two spoons to drop the batter into the grease worked well for me. Salted them generously with Kosher salt as soon as they came out of the fryer. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Love, love, love these clam fritters. I do not add the green pepper, I don't want to distract from the clams! I serve them with a "blooming onion" sauce for dipping and boy do they go fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I just tried these, I did not add the onion or bell pepper, I believe that would have made them even better. The liquid made the batter super runny, I added dry bread crumbs, parmesan cheese and panko, still couldn't really make a patty, i just dropped the batter by the spoonful into the oil and flattened them with the spoon. They'd be great with cocktail sauce or tartar sauce. I did not expect my young sons to like them but they are gobbling them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Are the clams in their own juice? If they are, that negates the milk - adding milk makes it a soup. I tried this with some clam juice, a tad more flour, and a half hour in the fridge to absorb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These were OK. It was very soupy with 1/2 cup of flour, no way you could make a patty with that, so I added more flour but in hind sight think 1/2 corm meal might have been good in it. I added more spices after reading the reviews and spoon dropped in hot oil to fry (even with added flour it was too soupy to form into patties). The were ok after tasting first few i added 1 -2 tsp of sugar. I thought the ones with sugar tasted better than the ones without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I did not care for this. Bland, tasteless, consistency of a toll house cookie. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe. Its not bland if you like clams. I left out the onion and the bell pepper. It was perfect! Nothing to hide the taste of the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States