Clam Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I really didn't like the taste and consistency when warm; it was better in both respects when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very, very rich, with so much butter. This is quite different that cream based dips and particularly if you are looking for an unusual dip, this one is a good choice. It reheats pretty well. I used the new Triscuit Rosemary and Olive Oil crackers for dipping, which was an awesome choice. I will experiment with leaving the clam sauce in the mixture, since the dip has a tendency to dry out after sitting for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I thought this was just okay. I followed the recipe pretty much as written. I assumed the clams weren't supposed to be drained (I think a few other reviewers may have mistakenly decided to do so), the lemon juice was from a bottle instead of fresh-squeezed, and the dish I used was a 9" round Pyrex dish. All I had on hand, cracker-wise, was saltines, and I'm sure there were better options. But the recipe itself was a bit of an odd combination, to my taste, and I probably won't be making this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Have been making this for years, except I melt the butter in frying pan and cook onions in it until completely browned. Also, make sure you use the clam juice, this should not be dry. Serve with mini rye or pumpernickel loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This recipe was soooooo dry. I had made it for a Big New Years Eve party I was having. Thank god I saved a bunch of the clam juice because, I had to add a lot of it to moisten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This recipe is so yummy! Everyone loved it! However, I followed the recipe and once it was in the bowl I drizzled it with olive oil. It definately would have been too dry to eat without it. Served it with tostitos.... YUMMY... it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Everyone loved this recipe! I mixed some of the cheese into the mixture as well as on top. We love it with Wheatables.I have been asked again and again to bring this dip to functions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I used panko crumbs, added some Italian seasoning, added a bit of the clam juice (I saved all of it...it has great flavor) & I used a monterey jack/cheddar blend of cheese. We tried the dip w/ assrted crackers (club crackers were the best) & celery slices. While tasty, I don't think this recipe is very well-suited for a dip w/ crackers. It's too heavy & dense (despite adding extra moisture w/ the clam juice). I think it would be better suited as a stuffing for mushrooms or spread on toasted french bread slices. Thansk for the recipe, Connie Malagrino!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Excellent! I kept the juice from the clams and used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and it was absolutely delicious! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I made this for a cookout and everyone loved it! I served with crackers instead of bread but it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States