Clam Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was very easy and tasted great. I did make a few changes, using a bottle of clam juice in place of half the water used to simmer the veggies. I also used fat free half and half, which did not seem to affect the flavor or texture of the chowder at all. I also added some crumbled bacon toward the end, which is an ingredient from another fish chowder recipe I have been making for years. If I do make this soup again, I would either cut the potatoes into larger cubes or simmer it for less time. The reason being is that when I whisked in the flour and butter mixture, most or all of the potatoes dissolved into the soup. This made for a more "mealy" mashed potato type of texture, which my husband does not find to be appropriate for Clam Chowder. I think I would also sauté the celery before adding the rest of the veggies to simmer, thus cutting down on the simmer time. Over all a hit for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
This recipe was fantastic. My husband asked "did you make this from scratch?" I told him I did and asked why. He said it was the best clam chowder he's ever had. This recipe went into my book the same day !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
After four plus years I've made this recipe again. This time, I was not so impressed; lowering my rating from five stars to three. I didn't remember having to do so much to actually give this chowder some taste; but, this time, I added a teaspoon of thyme, 5 slices of diced bacon, 4-10 ounce cans of clams with juice, and a lot more pepper. As written, there simply aren't that many clams, or clam flavor, and the chowder is very under-spiced. Originally Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003 Fantastic. Simple to make and delicious. I added 4 6.5 oz cans of clams instead of the called for two 10 oz cans, and served topped with bacon and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
An excellent base recipe that can be adjusted to suit your personal taste. I sauted the onions and garlic and added them carmelized rather than blending them together. I added shredded carrots, thyme, rosemary and an extra can of clams and juice! It was perfect for a rainy, yucky day like today. Very hearty and everyone I served it to came back for seconds! Will definately make again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This is the best Clam Chowerd in the World. It was creamy, fresh and wonderful. I tried it as the recipe called for and it was great. I made it again, and put bacon in it and it was GREAT. I also made Seafood Chowder with Crab, Fish, and Clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Great recipe. Added Thyme and Rosemary and sauteed onion and garlic per previous comments. Sautee in 2 tbs bacon grease for extra flavor...note; I cut this in 1/2 and I love a thick soup, but this was "spoon stand up" thick. Will make again with 1/2 amount of flour or another 2 cups of milk. A couple of shakes of tabasco dosen't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This clam chowder is very good and easy to make. The only thing I added was some Old Bay Seasons. Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This chowder is excellent. I had a partial recipe and this one most closely resembled the ingredients for the recipe I already had. It's relatively easy to make and tastes like a restaurant chowder. I added 1 tsp-1 Tbs of dried thyme and about 1/8-1/4 c. of white wine. I also added an extra can of clams and some chopped scallops. My family loved it. Thanks for the recipe Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I also sauted the celery for about 5 minutes. You only want to boil potatoes for 12 minutes or they will become mushy. I also added a small bottle of clam juice. Company said was as good as they had in Boston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinsley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was really good chowder.Slightly bland. Plenty thick, made way more than six servings. Way more! At the table added a little onion and garlic powder. Will make this again with a few more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States