Clam Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Great recipe. Added Thyme and Rosemary and sauteed onion and garlic per previous comments. Sautee in 2 tbs bacon grease for extra flavor...note; I cut this in 1/2 and I love a thick soup, but this was "spoon stand up" thick. Will make again with 1/2 amount of flour or another 2 cups of milk. A couple of shakes of tabasco dosen't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was really good chowder.Slightly bland. Plenty thick, made way more than six servings. Way more! At the table added a little onion and garlic powder. Will make this again with a few more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I understand the recipe said to adjust seasonings at the end but it took a lot more salt and pepper to get it right. I think I'll also add some thyme and rosemary next time to add a little more flavor to it. Stir constantly when heating, it wants to stick to the bottom of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
To cut down a bit on fat, we used equal parts "fat free" half-and-half and regular half-and-half. Overall very good flavor but got way too thick, and we even used less than the suggested amount of butter & flour. Will make again and try some different spices next time as well and maybe a bit extra clam juice. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Thank You for this recipe. I enjoyed it with homemade biscuits. I used milk instead of the cream and it came out delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Yummy!! Added a dash of dried thyme and a splash of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I don't like celery so I omitted that and added a can of drained corn. I loved the creamy texture and the taste. Just the right meal when temperatures are falling outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was a very easy and quick meal to make. My husband loved it. Thanks Sandy for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This was a wonderful recipe. I added more clams though and also a little carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Just a little too heavy for my personal taste. But good overall flavor. I will probably try it with milk or half & half instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States