Clam Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Yum...we LOVED this! First, I sauteed some bacon in a pan to crumble over the soup when served, and then I cooked the onion and garlic in the bacon drippings a little before putting them in the blender. I omitted the celery and added 2 tbsp. sherry and some garlic powder, and it came out so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was very easy and tasted great. I did make a few changes, using a bottle of clam juice in place of half the water used to simmer the veggies. I also used fat free half and half, which did not seem to affect the flavor or texture of the chowder at all. I also added some crumbled bacon toward the end, which is an ingredient from another fish chowder recipe I have been making for years. If I do make this soup again, I would either cut the potatoes into larger cubes or simmer it for less time. The reason being is that when I whisked in the flour and butter mixture, most or all of the potatoes dissolved into the soup. This made for a more "mealy" mashed potato type of texture, which my husband does not find to be appropriate for Clam Chowder. I think I would also sauté the celery before adding the rest of the veggies to simmer, thus cutting down on the simmer time. Over all a hit for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very goood and very filling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This tasted delicious, I added more salt and pepper, but overall excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I made this for company and everyone LOVED it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NONIEGOULD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This is my second review. This is my favorite recipes as of right now. I did make a couple of small changes. I bought bottled oyster juice and used instead of water. I used 4 cans of chopped clams, I like my clams meaty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Just the recipe I've been lookin for - a creamy rich New England style clam chowder. Very rich and worth the calories on occasion, but can be more healthy (and still very tasty) with a mixture of milk and half/half. I appreciate the reviewers comments on spices, because it still needs just a little more punch. Next time will add corn, and perhaps some fresh thyme and rosemary. Has anyone tried fresh parsley??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
It was very tasty. My 10-year-old son, who loves clam chowder, loved this. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I thought it was the best homemade clam chowder I've ever had. Everything was perfect. I added an extra can of clams and clam juice and it was wonderful! I love thick chowder and the thickness was just right! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I did not like this recipe. Looking at the other reviews, I must have done something wrong. I definitely prefer Campbell's clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States