Clam Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe is delicious! This is the first review I have written about any of the many recipes I have tried on this site. I wanted to tell you of a change I made in this one. Instead of flour, I added a 4 oz package of Idahoan brand Buttery Homestyle mashed potatoes to thicken the soup. It is yummy! If you don't like thick soup, don't add as much. I also added 1 chicken bullion cube to the water. As another review suggested, I cooked the chopped celery for a few minutes before adding the other veggies. That's it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
It was pretty good, it needed a little spicing up, I cut up some bacon and fried it first and also added thyme and more pepper and extra clams too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
My mother (who grew up in New England and has tried lots of clam chowder over the years) said that this was the best chowder she's ever had!! I did modify the recipe a bit - I added 3/4 of a bottle of clam juice in addition to that reserved from the canned clams. I also used fat free half and half. Finally, I added some crisp bacon when I added the half and half. It was wonderful and soooo rich!! I will definitely make this again - maybe for our chowder cookoff next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Vincent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I had to give this three stars because my boyfriend stated that it was just missing something. He didn't say it was bad, just not the best. I don't eat clam chowder but his family is big on it so I trust his opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Living in new england my whole life, I love me some good clam chowder!! I am amazed how good this came out!! Kudos to the chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I always stayed away from creamed soups because I thought they were to difficult to make. In the past two weeks I made two recipes. Clam chowder 111 and a creamed broccoli soup from this site. Both were out standing. I will be making this chowder recipe often, for it was a large hit in our household..........allripes.com ROCKS............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenbush Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenbush, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Love this chowda! I didn't blend the stuff together. Just put garlic salt in the potatoes. Just won first place in our firm's chili/soup cookoff. I would love to know if anyone used baby clams, and how that turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
AWSOME AWSOME THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFERENT WAS ADD 3 STRIPS OF CRUMBLED BACON AND 2 TABLESPOONS OF SHERRY AS SUGGESTED BY ANOTHER PERSON THANKS SO MUCH ADDING THIS TO MY RECIPE BOX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This recipe is a hit!! My friends and family are always craving for me to make this. Instead of using flour and butter to thicken up the soup, I've mixed cornstarch and water. You can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I made this for my husband who thought it was very bland. We will use it as a base recipe but doctor it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States