Clam Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was very easy and tasted great. I did make a few changes, using a bottle of clam juice in place of half the water used to simmer the veggies. I also used fat free half and half, which did not seem to affect the flavor or texture of the chowder at all. I also added some crumbled bacon toward the end, which is an ingredient from another fish chowder recipe I have been making for years. If I do make this soup again, I would either cut the potatoes into larger cubes or simmer it for less time. The reason being is that when I whisked in the flour and butter mixture, most or all of the potatoes dissolved into the soup. This made for a more "mealy" mashed potato type of texture, which my husband does not find to be appropriate for Clam Chowder. I think I would also sauté the celery before adding the rest of the veggies to simmer, thus cutting down on the simmer time. Over all a hit for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
This recipe was fantastic. My husband asked "did you make this from scratch?" I told him I did and asked why. He said it was the best clam chowder he's ever had. This recipe went into my book the same day !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
After four plus years I've made this recipe again. This time, I was not so impressed; lowering my rating from five stars to three. I didn't remember having to do so much to actually give this chowder some taste; but, this time, I added a teaspoon of thyme, 5 slices of diced bacon, 4-10 ounce cans of clams with juice, and a lot more pepper. As written, there simply aren't that many clams, or clam flavor, and the chowder is very under-spiced. Originally Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003 Fantastic. Simple to make and delicious. I added 4 6.5 oz cans of clams instead of the called for two 10 oz cans, and served topped with bacon and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
An excellent base recipe that can be adjusted to suit your personal taste. I sauted the onions and garlic and added them carmelized rather than blending them together. I added shredded carrots, thyme, rosemary and an extra can of clams and juice! It was perfect for a rainy, yucky day like today. Very hearty and everyone I served it to came back for seconds! Will definately make again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This is the best Clam Chowerd in the World. It was creamy, fresh and wonderful. I tried it as the recipe called for and it was great. I made it again, and put bacon in it and it was GREAT. I also made Seafood Chowder with Crab, Fish, and Clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Great recipe. Added Thyme and Rosemary and sauteed onion and garlic per previous comments. Sautee in 2 tbs bacon grease for extra flavor...note; I cut this in 1/2 and I love a thick soup, but this was "spoon stand up" thick. Will make again with 1/2 amount of flour or another 2 cups of milk. A couple of shakes of tabasco dosen't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This clam chowder is very good and easy to make. The only thing I added was some Old Bay Seasons. Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This chowder is excellent. I had a partial recipe and this one most closely resembled the ingredients for the recipe I already had. It's relatively easy to make and tastes like a restaurant chowder. I added 1 tsp-1 Tbs of dried thyme and about 1/8-1/4 c. of white wine. I also added an extra can of clams and some chopped scallops. My family loved it. Thanks for the recipe Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I also sauted the celery for about 5 minutes. You only want to boil potatoes for 12 minutes or they will become mushy. I also added a small bottle of clam juice. Company said was as good as they had in Boston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinsley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was really good chowder.Slightly bland. Plenty thick, made way more than six servings. Way more! At the table added a little onion and garlic powder. Will make this again with a few more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States