Clam Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Mmm! I've only ever had clam chowder out of the can, and I thought that was good until I tried this homemade version! It's thick, creamy, and no more skimpy portions of clam. The only change I made was to soften the onions in a little bit of butter before putting it in the blender. Nice to eat with some good, crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This chowder is excellent. I had a partial recipe and this one most closely resembled the ingredients for the recipe I already had. It's relatively easy to make and tastes like a restaurant chowder. I added 1 tsp-1 Tbs of dried thyme and about 1/8-1/4 c. of white wine. I also added an extra can of clams and some chopped scallops. My family loved it. Thanks for the recipe Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Great recipe. Added Thyme and Rosemary and sauteed onion and garlic per previous comments. Sautee in 2 tbs bacon grease for extra flavor...note; I cut this in 1/2 and I love a thick soup, but this was "spoon stand up" thick. Will make again with 1/2 amount of flour or another 2 cups of milk. A couple of shakes of tabasco dosen't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was really good chowder.Slightly bland. Plenty thick, made way more than six servings. Way more! At the table added a little onion and garlic powder. Will make this again with a few more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I understand the recipe said to adjust seasonings at the end but it took a lot more salt and pepper to get it right. I think I'll also add some thyme and rosemary next time to add a little more flavor to it. Stir constantly when heating, it wants to stick to the bottom of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
To cut down a bit on fat, we used equal parts "fat free" half-and-half and regular half-and-half. Overall very good flavor but got way too thick, and we even used less than the suggested amount of butter & flour. Will make again and try some different spices next time as well and maybe a bit extra clam juice. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Thank You for this recipe. I enjoyed it with homemade biscuits. I used milk instead of the cream and it came out delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Yummy!! Added a dash of dried thyme and a splash of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I don't like celery so I omitted that and added a can of drained corn. I loved the creamy texture and the taste. Just the right meal when temperatures are falling outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was a very easy and quick meal to make. My husband loved it. Thanks Sandy for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States