Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I must say this is the best clam chowder that has ever come out of my kitchen! Tastes like restraunt quality but really easy to make!! However, I think this makes more than 10 servings, I had to use my LARGEST roasting pan just to hold all the ingrediants. Can't wait to make again! Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I would never have tried this recipe except for all the good feedback...I did have to alter it a little since I wanted to cook it in the crock pot instead of the oven. I chopped up some celery along w/the onion and used bacon drippings instead of margarine. I added a pinch of thyme like I read in anothers review... I cooked it on low for about 8 hours and don't add the half and half until one hour before finshed. If you do then it will curdle. the easiest and best tasting clam chowder I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
tried this recipe and i absolutly loved it so did my husband i am funny about clam chowder and there are all kinds out there in resturants and personal recipes and i find this to be the best ever and i have searched for sometime now and have been cooking since well for a while believe me! Try it sure you will agree!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
OK... the typical FANTASTIC RATING and review with "exceptions" on the ingredients. First off... FANTASTIC RECIPE.. DOH!!.. could a recipe with base ingredients "out of the can" be better than a "hand wringing" personally inspected and selected batch of ingredients... ???? Guess what.. RIGHT ON!!! Now for my "MODS"... everything the same "EXCEPT"... 6 slices of thick bacon crumbled; 1 TBSP of bacon fat reserved and added to the half cup of margarine (we used BUTTER) that I used to saute the 2 cups of onion, 4 stalks of chopped celery hearts till translucent/tender and, then, added 4 Red Potatoes washed, scrubbed and then cubed.. LEAVE THE SKINS ON.... We added this to the "canned" ingredients (but in our case they didn't have cream of potato soup so I went with 2 - 6.5 oz cans of cream of onion and 3 - 6.5 oz cans of clam chowder) and a 8 oz. bottle of Snows clam juice. All this was combined with a TBSP of parsley and 1 tsp each of thyme and dill. This was the BEST CLAM CHOWDER we have ever had... so simple it is mind boggling. TRY IT; YOU WILL LIKE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
This recipe is great. Living in Maine it is hard to please these experts, this recipe is impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was great! Everyone but my picky son ate and enjoyed. My little girl asked for 2nds! I did scale down the recipe to 6 servings and I cooked all day on low in the crock pot. I added one stalk of chopped celery, a pitch of thyme and a few sprinkles of parsley. What an easy dish to prepare that tastes totally homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was a huge hit at a recent dinner party! It was so easy to make. I did it in my crockpot. Everyone said it was the best clam chowder they had ever tasted. I didn't have the heart to tell them it was all canned soup. Let them think I went to a lot of trouble! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I made this chowder last Christmas Eve and everyone thought I had "slaved all afternoon" making it! It drew raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I just made this recipe. It is excellent!!! Very easy to fix. I added some bacon to the sauteed onion for a little bite of flavor. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
This is an AWSOME soup. Everyone raves when I serve it. :)Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States