Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is the best CLAM CHOWDER we ever tried, we'd been to san francisco, monterey, santa cruz, pismo beach ,redondo beach, etc, and there is nothing like this reccepie, It sounds weird that you have to use already made clam chowder, in order to make this batch, but IT REALLY WORKS !! My wife used the crockpot instead the oven and came up perfect, the only thing we noticed that by using exactly the measurements of the ingridients, we came up with a FULL, big size crockpot of chowder, wich wasn't a problem as the whole family loved it we had a little extra for next day...... Note: consider 3 to 4 hrs.(high)for cooking before you'll serve, and don't add the half and half until one hour before finshed. We use RAYMOND'S SOURDOGH BAGGETTE, bread wich is made in south san francisco = a KILLER !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was a huge hit at a recent dinner party! It was so easy to make. I did it in my crockpot. Everyone said it was the best clam chowder they had ever tasted. I didn't have the heart to tell them it was all canned soup. Let them think I went to a lot of trouble! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The VERY BEST I've ever had! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Rave reviews all across the board. Fantastic recipe! It makes a lot, so be ready with containers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was a good, easy base. However, we found it had too much of a clammy taste for our little family so we added another can of cream of potato soup (we made a batch sized for two) and we added a little dill, paprika, and pepper. After our changes we loved it. I think next time I'll drain the minced clams first but overall a good, easy base for those who aren't very good as making a roux or don't know how but want a good clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
OK... the typical FANTASTIC RATING and review with "exceptions" on the ingredients. First off... FANTASTIC RECIPE.. DOH!!.. could a recipe with base ingredients "out of the can" be better than a "hand wringing" personally inspected and selected batch of ingredients... ???? Guess what.. RIGHT ON!!! Now for my "MODS"... everything the same "EXCEPT"... 6 slices of thick bacon crumbled; 1 TBSP of bacon fat reserved and added to the half cup of margarine (we used BUTTER) that I used to saute the 2 cups of onion, 4 stalks of chopped celery hearts till translucent/tender and, then, added 4 Red Potatoes washed, scrubbed and then cubed.. LEAVE THE SKINS ON.... We added this to the "canned" ingredients (but in our case they didn't have cream of potato soup so I went with 2 - 6.5 oz cans of cream of onion and 3 - 6.5 oz cans of clam chowder) and a 8 oz. bottle of Snows clam juice. All this was combined with a TBSP of parsley and 1 tsp each of thyme and dill. This was the BEST CLAM CHOWDER we have ever had... so simple it is mind boggling. TRY IT; YOU WILL LIKE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is an awesome soup! I made it per the instructions, but put it in the crock pot. It was perfect and easy. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
My FAVORITE recipe so far!! I took advise about the thyme, though I used both fresh and dried. Also I did add celery, Oh! I used this mornings bacon grease to saute the onions with a bit a butter, last thing I did was added the half an half a small amount every hour. I baked the chowder in a 5 1/2 qt. pot for 4 hours. My husband loved it. MUST MAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was the best clam chowder recipe I have ever tasted!! We live on the West Coast and have had many variations of chowder but even my husband said this one is the best! I only changed the recipe just a bit by adding bacon, but other than that it was perfect just the way it was written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I was so anxious to try this chowder that it was absolute agony to wait 4 hours! I scaled the recipe ingredients waaayy back. Here's what I did. I cooked a small chopped onion in some bacon grease and a bit of butter. I also added a few slices of bacon. I used 2 cans of cream of potato soup, one of clam chowder, and 1 cup of half and half. I added 3/4 cup of milk (ran out of 1/2 & 1/2) and since i had some leftover cream of chicken soup I threw that in too. This may sound weird but I don't like my chowder overally "fishy" so I did not add the extra can of clams. This fit in a 8X8 baking dish and I had enough to confortably feed 4. This tasted great, like something you'd get in a restaurant. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States