Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was a great recipie. I used the suggestion of adding the bacon and substituted a combination of 1/2& 1/2 cream and milk instead of the evaporated milk suggested. The soup was a big hit. I would add some garlic or other flavourings besides salt and pepper in it next time I made it to give it a little bit more flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcoulas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great soup! I added bacon and used less butter, but it just didn't quite taste like clam chowder. Next time I will probably add clam juice instead of the water or another can of clams. . . It did taste wonderful though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very Good - extremely rich and creamy. I added bacon and more spices (italian spice & garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I salute you! My cupboard was particularly bare when I needed a base recipe for clam chowder. I had canned clams, and always have evaporated milk on hand. This is a great recipe. I served it with hearty garlic bread, and we were happy campers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Great recipe, I added cayenne pepper and chili powder to give a little spiciness then added cheddar cheese on top, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was so good. It was very creamy and smooth. I think I ended up adding 2 cups of water (the recipe doesn't tell you a certain amount). I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was wonderful, it was so thick and creamy. I cooked 4 bacon strips, and then sauteed the onion (didn't have any celery) in the bacon fat. I did add a little bit of olive oil to help make the roux. I used 3 cans of clams and an extra potato to make the chowder hearty. I also sprinkled in some garlic powder. I can't wait for lunch so I can eat the rest of this chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Wonderful it has a lovely cream. I recommend to make it with real milk and cream (about 1 cup of milk, and 1/2 cup of cream). I also must warn you not to try adding too much clams, I added 4 ounces to many and my sister complained that its was too fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This clam chowder was exceptional! With a little minced garlic and a bit of parsley my family enjoyed this immensely. Was glad to see it is Military Style, as we also know a Military chef who made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe, I added one can of chopped clams, but otherwise followed the recipe to a tee. My husband who 'hates' clams LOVED this, and even had it for lunch the next day! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States