Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My family and I love this recipe. The only change I made is cooking the potatoes while I'm chopping the veggies. But that's it. Great soup all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Really great recipe, but it needs more flavor. I added some garlic powder, and I think next time I make it I will add some garlic with the onions and celery. I only used 2 cans of clams and I will add a third one next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
this was very good. i added some garlic, carrots, dill, and a few dashes of hot sauce and cajun spice to give it a few more levels of flavor. to me this had the perfect consistency and you can spice it up to your liking. i used 2/3 c nonfat dry milk with 3/4 c water as a sub for the evaporated milk. it worked great. i added exactly 2 c of water and 2 tsp clam base for the added clam flavor. was very good w/ Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
The first time I made my husband (from the east coast) clam chowder, he informed me that 'real' clam chowder doesn't have bacon in it. I've been on a search for 'real' clam chowder ever since. At last, I've found it. I made this chowder just the way it was written, and I wouldn't change a thing. The consistency is perfect and the subtle flavours are spot on. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
DELICIOUS*** beware, you'll want to eat a gallon of it! I cut a bit of fat by using 2 Tbsp butter, made roux with 1/4 cup of flour, then added half of a bottle of clam juice to the other 1/4 cup of flour, blending it well before adding it to the pan. I then added the rest of the bottle of clam juice with the reserved juice from the clam cans, then the water. I also used fat-free evaporated milk and added 1/2 cup of thinly sliced baby carrots. Big-time keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Sooo easy to make and I liked it alot. I will leave out the Thyme, when I make it again! I would add more clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a very good basic, classic clam chowder recipe. I added chopped bacon, but otherwise used the recipe as is. Loved the addition of thyme - don't skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was good and came together fairly easily--I did jazz up teh seasoning a bit. Very satisfying soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSteggy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I added bay leaf, bacon, and some extra seasonings and it was great - the bacon didn't add much to it so wouldn't use bacon next time, unless it was as a topping, which would have been super yummy :) This was very thick and creamy, would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was a great recipie. I used the suggestion of adding the bacon and substituted a combination of 1/2& 1/2 cream and milk instead of the evaporated milk suggested. The soup was a big hit. I would add some garlic or other flavourings besides salt and pepper in it next time I made it to give it a little bit more flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcoulas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States