Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My family and I love this recipe. The only change I made is cooking the potatoes while I'm chopping the veggies. But that's it. Great soup all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Really great recipe, but it needs more flavor. I added some garlic powder, and I think next time I make it I will add some garlic with the onions and celery. I only used 2 cans of clams and I will add a third one next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
this was very good. i added some garlic, carrots, dill, and a few dashes of hot sauce and cajun spice to give it a few more levels of flavor. to me this had the perfect consistency and you can spice it up to your liking. i used 2/3 c nonfat dry milk with 3/4 c water as a sub for the evaporated milk. it worked great. i added exactly 2 c of water and 2 tsp clam base for the added clam flavor. was very good w/ Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
The first time I made my husband (from the east coast) clam chowder, he informed me that 'real' clam chowder doesn't have bacon in it. I've been on a search for 'real' clam chowder ever since. At last, I've found it. I made this chowder just the way it was written, and I wouldn't change a thing. The consistency is perfect and the subtle flavours are spot on. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
DELICIOUS*** beware, you'll want to eat a gallon of it! I cut a bit of fat by using 2 Tbsp butter, made roux with 1/4 cup of flour, then added half of a bottle of clam juice to the other 1/4 cup of flour, blending it well before adding it to the pan. I then added the rest of the bottle of clam juice with the reserved juice from the clam cans, then the water. I also used fat-free evaporated milk and added 1/2 cup of thinly sliced baby carrots. Big-time keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Sooo easy to make and I liked it alot. I will leave out the Thyme, when I make it again! I would add more clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a very good basic, classic clam chowder recipe. I added chopped bacon, but otherwise used the recipe as is. Loved the addition of thyme - don't skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was good and came together fairly easily--I did jazz up teh seasoning a bit. Very satisfying soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSteggy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I added bay leaf, bacon, and some extra seasonings and it was great - the bacon didn't add much to it so wouldn't use bacon next time, unless it was as a topping, which would have been super yummy :) This was very thick and creamy, would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was a great recipie. I used the suggestion of adding the bacon and substituted a combination of 1/2& 1/2 cream and milk instead of the evaporated milk suggested. The soup was a big hit. I would add some garlic or other flavourings besides salt and pepper in it next time I made it to give it a little bit more flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcoulas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States