Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Ok my prior post isnt here so here we go again. I doubled the recipe and used clam juice for the water since I had some and tried whole wheat flour. It was pasty tasting at first but added more milk and it was fine. Used some of the reviewers spices and a sweet onion. Wished I had a yellow onion on hand as that sweet onion gave the chowder a sweet flavor I would rather not have. Will def. Make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was easy to make and I wouldn't change a thing. Note that you will also need cold water handy (not on ingredient list), and just add enough to your desired consistency. I made it for a group and everyone wanted seconds. I used about 3/4 cup water to this recipe, and my soup came out much thicker than the photo of the soup in the brown bowl (as of 1/02/14).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choosyGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is an easy recipe with great, basic ingredients. I like that there are only two cans of clams because I like my soup less fishy. I used fat free half and half instead of evaporated milk, and added a little bit of bacon pieces. I agree with another reviewer that said the water ends up being around 2 cups. The only reason I gave this recipe a lower rating is because of the thyme. I only added half of the called for amount and the thyme still over powered the soup. I would leave out the thyme completely on the next batch. I would say without the thyme this would be a five star recipe. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Some of my friends & I put together a meal for lunch each day at work.We use slow-cookers,electric skillets,grills,etc. to cook with.This chowder works great for us as we can make it ahead & warm it in time for lunch,saving time,money & eating healthier,too.As it is for 10-16 people,I added some extra potatoes & such,but it fit the need very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
this was amazing soup i was making this for my husband as i dont like clam chowder i decided to try it and i was so surprized on the taste and thickness of it and my husband loves it and wants me to make it again my mother in law who is very picky loved it i knew it was good when she ate it too and had seconds thanks for a great soup will be making this again and its much cheaper to make this then buy many cans at the store to feed the family , the only difference i did different was add a 8 oz bottle of clam juice to it towards the end of the cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roscommon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is one of the best recipes. I love that it's made with evaporated milk rather than cream because it's still as creamy of a soup, but I can buy skim evaporated milk to save some fat and calories. And it's mostly ingredients that I can keep in the pantry for a day when I'm craving clam chowder. I should note that I do substitute the water for chicken broth to add a bit more flavour, use three cans of clams instead of two, and double the potatoes (I like it thick and chunky). Sometimes I also add corn. Yummy! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This is a really good base recipe that lends itself well to addition. The second time I made it, I used two slices of fatty bacon and 1/4 cup butter because I like bacon, and I added another potato out of preference, and 1/2 cup of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very nice for sure! I did some mods that you may like. Changes are: 3 cans of clams, 3 potatoes, 2/3 teaspoon thyme, 2/3 cup flour, 3-5 cloves of garlic, 1 Stock of Leek. Make the roux as stated THEN add in the Leek and go from there. Make sure you add your extra water slow as if you over do it, yuck.....water soup! Have fun and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granddadof10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Amazing! I just would have cooked the veggetables a little longer so they were a little less crispy...for some reason the tender crisp worked though...but I still think it would have tasted a little better softer. Also, I added the recommended amount of liquid, but since my husband and I like our chowder uber thick we ended up adding more flour to get it back to the level of thickness we like. So I guess depending on how thick you like it, Id play it by ear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaFouts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States