Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I made this exactly as the recipie called for and it was - just OK - it seemed to lack any convincing flavor of anything in particular - there was no evidence of clams unless you happened to get one in your spoon - my overall impression was - too bland - so, toward the end of the 20 minute simmer I added a bay leaf and, a dash of celery salt, and a dash of basil - that helped some - if I make it again, I think I'll start with something like bacon drippings instead of plain butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I am always trying out different clam chowder recipes. Although none are as good as my mothers! This one is a keeper. I have served it now a few times and always get raves. I do add just a hint of sherry occasionally and always top the bowl of with a small pat of butter and a sprinkle of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Excellent recipe. The only thing I do differently is to cook a few strips of diced bacon along with the onion and celery and reduce the butter slightly to compensate for the added fat.. I have used regular milk or half and half cream instead of evaporated milk also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very nice for sure! I did some mods that you may like. Changes are: 3 cans of clams, 3 potatoes, 2/3 teaspoon thyme, 2/3 cup flour, 3-5 cloves of garlic, 1 Stock of Leek. Make the roux as stated THEN add in the Leek and go from there. Make sure you add your extra water slow as if you over do it, yuck.....water soup! Have fun and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granddadof10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This is my very favorite homemade clam chowder recipe. I make this now rather than buy it or eat it out. I add a lot more seasonings - especially garlic powder and I add dill, celery salt, and garlic salt for a really good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was so good. It was very creamy and smooth. I think I ended up adding 2 cups of water (the recipe doesn't tell you a certain amount). I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This was sooooooooo good! Since several of the reviews suggested adding more clams, I added a 3rd can of chopped, rather than minced clams, along with a little garlic powder and a wee bit of dill. It was terrific. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
What a wonderfully delicious and filling chowder. We loved it, in fact I served it to a large family gathering and everyone loved it. I did add three ingredients to it that I felt would give it a little more flavor - 1 tsp. crushed garlic and 1/2 tsp. basil & 1/2 tsp. cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
My husband LOVED this! He kept going back for more until finally it was all gone! I didn't have thyme so just used italian seasoning. It was wonderful! Make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Wonderful it has a lovely cream. I recommend to make it with real milk and cream (about 1 cup of milk, and 1/2 cup of cream). I also must warn you not to try adding too much clams, I added 4 ounces to many and my sister complained that its was too fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States