Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
This is GREAT clam chowder! I was out of thyme, so substitued a little basil. Also added 1/2 teaspoon each of dill weed and garlic powder. Yum!! I see no reason to ever buy canned clam chowder again - this is just as easy to make, and tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This is a fantastic basic chowder recipe. I added chopped bacon, paprika and used a lot of whole baby clams. I also used more spices than what's called for and it was very tasty....Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Good recipe! 4 out of 5 people in our house loved this; 15yo son wouldn't even try it, thinks clams are slimy and gross. I used leftover boiled potatoes that I mashed slightly with potato masher before adding clams when rest of soup had heated up. I used previous reviewers ideas of using Old Bay Seasoning and Basil, as well as a small bottle of Clam Juice and 3 cans of minced clams. Served it with Pecan Sticky Buns by Stefanie Sellars. Wonderful, hearty meal. Thanks Gail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This is my very favorite homemade clam chowder recipe. I make this now rather than buy it or eat it out. I add a lot more seasonings - especially garlic powder and I add dill, celery salt, and garlic salt for a really good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I am always trying out different clam chowder recipes. Although none are as good as my mothers! This one is a keeper. I have served it now a few times and always get raves. I do add just a hint of sherry occasionally and always top the bowl of with a small pat of butter and a sprinkle of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I made this exactly as the recipie called for and it was - just OK - it seemed to lack any convincing flavor of anything in particular - there was no evidence of clams unless you happened to get one in your spoon - my overall impression was - too bland - so, toward the end of the 20 minute simmer I added a bay leaf and, a dash of celery salt, and a dash of basil - that helped some - if I make it again, I think I'll start with something like bacon drippings instead of plain butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
GREAT CHOWDER! This was the best homemade chowder we've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
Really yummy & easy! Great to make on Saturday afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
My husband LOVED this! He kept going back for more until finally it was all gone! I didn't have thyme so just used italian seasoning. It was wonderful! Make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States