Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This is a fantastic basic chowder recipe. I added chopped bacon, paprika and used a lot of whole baby clams. I also used more spices than what's called for and it was very tasty....Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Good recipe! 4 out of 5 people in our house loved this; 15yo son wouldn't even try it, thinks clams are slimy and gross. I used leftover boiled potatoes that I mashed slightly with potato masher before adding clams when rest of soup had heated up. I used previous reviewers ideas of using Old Bay Seasoning and Basil, as well as a small bottle of Clam Juice and 3 cans of minced clams. Served it with Pecan Sticky Buns by Stefanie Sellars. Wonderful, hearty meal. Thanks Gail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This is my very favorite homemade clam chowder recipe. I make this now rather than buy it or eat it out. I add a lot more seasonings - especially garlic powder and I add dill, celery salt, and garlic salt for a really good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I am always trying out different clam chowder recipes. Although none are as good as my mothers! This one is a keeper. I have served it now a few times and always get raves. I do add just a hint of sherry occasionally and always top the bowl of with a small pat of butter and a sprinkle of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I made this exactly as the recipie called for and it was - just OK - it seemed to lack any convincing flavor of anything in particular - there was no evidence of clams unless you happened to get one in your spoon - my overall impression was - too bland - so, toward the end of the 20 minute simmer I added a bay leaf and, a dash of celery salt, and a dash of basil - that helped some - if I make it again, I think I'll start with something like bacon drippings instead of plain butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
GREAT CHOWDER! This was the best homemade chowder we've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
Really yummy & easy! Great to make on Saturday afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
My husband LOVED this! He kept going back for more until finally it was all gone! I didn't have thyme so just used italian seasoning. It was wonderful! Make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
What a wonderfully delicious and filling chowder. We loved it, in fact I served it to a large family gathering and everyone loved it. I did add three ingredients to it that I felt would give it a little more flavor - 1 tsp. crushed garlic and 1/2 tsp. basil & 1/2 tsp. cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States