Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Excellent recipe. The only thing I do differently is to cook a few strips of diced bacon along with the onion and celery and reduce the butter slightly to compensate for the added fat.. I have used regular milk or half and half cream instead of evaporated milk also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This was sooooooooo good! Since several of the reviews suggested adding more clams, I added a 3rd can of chopped, rather than minced clams, along with a little garlic powder and a wee bit of dill. It was terrific. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I alter this recipe only by using heavy cream rather than evaporated milk. Also may use more clams and/or vegetables to make a "hearty chowder". We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This is a very tasty, easy recipe. I have made it several times and it always turns out great. Have been guilty of adding extra clams, though. Give it a try. I think you'll enjoy it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I did not enjoy this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Great quick and easy recipe to warm you and your family on a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Awesome clam chowder! Thick and creamy and delicious. I used whole baby clams instead of minced and served it with lightly toasted, thick slices of garlic bread (we ALWAYS have garlic bread with soup/chowder/stew). Thanks Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Excellent. This clam chowder was sooo good. I added a few extras to it though. Some garlic powder, a bay leaf and I didn't have celery so I used celery seed. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Great clam chowder! Easy to make and really filling. Next time I will try adding a little garlic and basil and maybe a little bit of carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I think this is a perfect chowder that avoids the heavy creams and comes really close to the thickness that you might desire.I fooled my daughter hwen she came on college break looking for that thick/rich "out to dinner taste"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States