Clam Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
thanks we altered the recipe a bit for a family clam bake 2 weeks ago. it was a big hit. I used homemade vegetable broth to cook with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter Moyer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Could only find pre-cooked clams and mussels. all sea food except mussels were soft. Taste was wonderful however will try boiling potatoes for 1/2 time alone in broth and then add the seafood in order of mussels, clams, shrimp for second half with added broth to steam sea food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Schrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I've made this several times, and while the basic recipe is outstanding, you just can't help but tweak it to preference and what's available. My favorite version uses deveined jumbo shrimp, big scallops, small lobster tails, mussels and/or clams and large cubes of cod that have been tossed with olive oil, a little lemon pepper and a dollop of Dijon mustard. I layer the bottom of the pot with corn husks (for protection) then new potatoes, corn chunks, a quartered onion, and a halved, whole bulb of garlic. I add the chicken broth and about a cup of Pinot blanc and bring to a simmer. Once that's going, I layer on the seafood and a link of sausage cut into 2" pieces. Sprinkle liberally with Old Bay Seasoning, some salt and chunks of butter. Since I have a bay tree, I tuck in some sprigs of bay leaf with a quartered lemon. I top all that with a banana leaf that's been cut to fit the pot. Then I seal the pot with aluminum foil and a lid and simmer until the potatoes are tender (about 30 min). I love this. Love it. Perfect tailgate food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was a wonderful dinner - we took the advice and partially baked the potatoes before throwing it all together. We used the small ears of corn still on the cob and used old bay in the chicken broth. We didn't use any alcohol since we didn't have any and it wasn't missed. We will do this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELAINE92

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boardman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
As a chef this is a good dish as written but the potatoes should be par boiled as mentioned by another member. I would not cook the seafood for 45 minutes either. Cook until the clams and the muscles open. Throw out the ones that don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made a little bigger as well. put two whole cloves garlic, two boxes chicken broth and two cans of beer instead of the vermuth. Sea salt, cracked pepper and a sprinkle of old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Good basic recipe. Only giving it 4 stars since I had doubts about the cooking time and the broth taste. I believed that the potatoes would be more than done, but the seafood would be overcook by the prescribed time of 45 minutes. I parboiled the potatoes in salt water for 10 minutes as another reviewer had written, then immersed them in tap water. To the low-sodium chicken broth with 1 cup white wine, add 3 small-medium onions, 6 large whole peeled garlic cloves, and a handful of rough chop spring onions (did not have leeks). Season to taste with salt and pepper when it starts to boil. You'll have an idea of what the broth will taste by then. Added the potatoes after seasoning. Then layers of clams, mussels, and shrimp. Left on boil for 10 minutes, then lowered to a simmer for another 10. With 20 minutes cooking time, I still thought the clams and mussels were overdone. The colossal shrimp was just right. Corn was boiled in another pot, on its own. I served the broth as a side too. We'll remember this for another July 4th celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I haven't tried this version, but I certainly will! Here in NC we call them Low Country Boils. Basically the same thing. I start with a huge stock pot, add 2 thinly sliced lemons and and onion cut in wedges. I add lots of Old Bay Lemon & Herb and Garilc & Herb. I always add the potatoes first, as they take the longest to cook. Then half ears of frozen corn on the cob. I add the ingredients according to the cooking time. Beef sausage, oysters, clams and shrimp. Strain and dump onto a newspaper covered table (or a table cloth with a few folded towels). Bowls of melted butter and cocktail sauce all around. We usually serve with hush puppies. Eat it all with your fingers! Have plenty of paper towels on hand. LOVE, love, LOVE the clams and the NC oysters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very good! Turned out perfect! Husband even liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Due to the season, I couldn't find fresh mussels, but I did the bake anyway! Turned out so good, and amazing broth left over! I like things spicy, so after I served myself, I added some fresh red pepper flakes and black pepper, which added a nice flare. In the bake, I also put chucks on onion and whole garlic cloves, which everyone loved. I'm looking forward to doing this more when summer comes around again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States