Claire's Yummy Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These were okay. I wasn't sure what to expect since I'd only ever had crepes once before and I was maybe 10 and truthfully couldn't remember anything more than super thin pancake, so I didn't have anything to compare this to. I thought it was rather bland and eggy and rubbery texture, not bread-like. I think these really need a "wet" filling or fancy topping of some kind. They were very dry and I added some syrup which helped a lot. Super fast and so easy. The cooking time was way off though as mine cooked on the first side in about a minute and even though they were very pale in color it was cooked throughout. Not too bad... we'll probably have these again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
The first time I made this, the crepes were too thick. When I made it the second time, I ADDED AN EXTRA 1/2 CUP + 1 TBSP MILK. It was easier to work with and it didn't have the eggy or floury taste other viewers complained about. I used low fat milk and it wasn't rubbery at all. I served these with shredded melted Gouda and a slice of cooked ham. The flavour was good, but I would like to try a couple other recipes from this site before deciding on my go-to recipe for crepes. UPDATE: I tried the French Crepes from this site and they were good, but I liked the taste of these better (however, with the changes that I made stated above). I changed the rating from 3 to 4 stars. Will use this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
EXCELLENT recipe! I thought crepes were difficult to make/get the hang of. They aren't with this recipe! We add 1/2 t. vanilla (too much is overwhelming in this) and use butter cooking spray instead of oil to save calories. They are best golden brown! We put either butter, cinnamon & sugar inside or Nutella - both types rolled and then topped with a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Great filled with 8 oz. softened cream cheese mixed with 1/4 c. sugar, dash of vanilla and cinnamon then topped with Apple-Cinnamon Syrup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Super Simple and Scrumptious! They're delicious topped with Nutella, strawberries and whipped cream, cinnamon apples, bananas, or you name it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
this recipe is very good. it is so simple. it is one of my favorites. since the simple ingridients made such a good taste i am going to have to give it 5 stars. when i cook these or pretty much all crepes, i am too hungry to wait and roll them up and put fruit on them i'll just eat them like a pancake with syrup and butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I have never made crepes before and these turned out yummy for my first shot! I noticed the more I made the better I got at thinning them out! Great recipe, thanks! I added 2 tsp vanilla to the mixture and I topped it with another recipe on here using Orange Sauce and I added whipped cream. It was like eating a creamsicle - very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Perfect. I was a hit at the brunch w/ this recipe!! The only thing I did differently was that I combined everything in a blender rather than beating by hand or w/ an electric beater. It saved me time and gave the crepes a great consistency. When I made this recipe two weeks later and only beat by hand, the consistency was totally different and the crepes did not spread easily onto the skillet. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
My huband makes these for mefilled with yougart and granola and tops with fresh fruit, to kill for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
these crepes were delcious! everyone love them. dont even need filling or topping the crepe itself was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States