Claire's Yummy Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Technique is good, but they are way too thick. I added about another 1/2 cup milk plus water to thin this batter out. You want it to run out of your scoop. Next time I will add two eggs, plus some more milk. But quick, easy, and a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Great recipe. Simple, tasty, good texture. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I learned how to make crepes from a street vendor in Germany. This recipe is just about right. There are comments about batter being too thick, and rubbery crepes. It's all about technique! First, do not over-stir flour, that develops the gluten causing rubbery texture. Mix with fork- egg, milk, salt(just a pinch) and sugar in a bowl till the egg is frothy. Measure the cup of flour, stir in a few tablespoons at a time, the less stirring here the better. Don't add all the flour at once or else it will clump up and take too much stirring to incorporate, and THAT is what causes the rubbery texture. Batter is thick, a few small clumps is ok. (Don't prepare batter far in advance either) Next, best way to cook these is on a cast iron griddle. Get the heat just right. Spread a teaspoon of butter or bacon fat on to the griddle, and heat it to the point where it starts to turn golden, but not so hot to where it smokes. Using a large ladle, pour a few tablespoons of batter onto the griddle. After a few seconds to let the bottom firm, with the ladle, spread batter, starting in the center of the crepe, spiral toward the outside, spreading it thinner and bigger. If you tear the crepe, patch with a few drops of batter. You will get better with practice. Flip with spatula when the top has lost it's moist gloss, and bottom is light brown, takes about a minute. Flip side takes a bit less time to lightly brown. Remove, repeat, and add a little butter to griddle as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
super easy but I thought mine were heavy on the flour flavor, but I thought it was because I used whole wheat flour. Also had to add 1/2 tsp vanilla and more milk since they weren't runny enough to spread in the pan. Other than that good easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hawksmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Yum to the ummy! Very easy added cinnamon and vanilla extract. Filled with a cream cheese strawberry filling..thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abou ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
OMG So easy and delicious! I added a 1/4tsp of vanilla extract like many recommended and it was perfect! I also used Silk Pure Coconut Milk (original flavor) since I don't drink regular milk and it was AMAZING!! A bit thick, so I might add a little more milk next time, but the crepes themselves put IHOP to SHAME!! Thanks for the amazing recipe!!! I ate the first one while I was cooking them (had to sample the product, lol!) and I had the hardest time not eating them as they were coming off the pan. I made about 10 6-7in" crepes and at first used a bit of butter to coat the pan but then did without for the last 3 and they came out fine. Had mine with nutella only on two and whipped creme on another two and I'll save the others for breakfast tomorrow! Now I want to get some lingonberry jelly for Swedish crepes!! *drool*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nevroth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Good simple recipe. As per other suggestions, I also added a bit more milk to thin out the batter, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Abel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Perfect! Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
this is so easy! I've been using this recipe for a whole year now & it never fails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valeriewallace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States